Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Mar 07 2012
By: john_wisdom Gaming Beast 2268 posts
Offline

Unit 13 Coop NAT 3 Issue

10 replies 664 views Edited Mar 7, 2012

For some reason my NAT is NAT 3 and I am unable to play Coop.. Ive tried everything I can find on the interwebs to fix it.. Anyone savy want to help a brutha out?

Linksys WRT120N

Message 1 of 11 (664 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
PlayStation MVP
Registered: 12/16/2008
Offline
7785 posts
 

Re: Unit 13 Coop NAT 3 Issue

Mar 7, 2012

Who's your internet service provider, and what modem did they give you?

Often, the modem is acting as a router too, and it's scrambling connection data from the internet before it reaches your personal Linksys router. You have to turn off the routing on the modem. It's called "bridging". There's probably a guide online that someone else in the same boat as you are in left behind. If you have that info, you can look for a guide.

Message 2 of 11 (664 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Uncharted Territory
Registered: 04/12/2010
Offline
1796 posts
 

Re: Unit 13 Coop NAT 3 Issue

Mar 7, 2012

Have you followed the advice given in this thread? http://community.us.playstation.com/thread/2999482?start=0&tstart=0

--------------------
Chris Roper
Community Manager, Zipper Interactive
--------------------
Message 3 of 11 (664 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Gaming Beast
Registered: 05/07/2003
Offline
2268 posts
 

Re: Unit 13 Coop NAT 3 Issue

Mar 7, 2012

If I was trying to get my PS3 to be NAT2 instead of NAT3 that would be a great link.. BUT since my PS3 is already in NAT2 and its my VITA that is stuck in NAT3 Im afraid that link is not going to help me..

UNLESS I want to put my VITA in DMZ which will make it EVEN MORE vulnerable to the attacks of hackers than the PSN already is..

Ill now try to look into this bridging thing and see where that leads.. thanks.

Message 4 of 11 (664 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Gaming Beast
Registered: 05/07/2003
Offline
2268 posts
 

Re: Unit 13 Coop NAT 3 Issue

Mar 7, 2012

xfinity (comcast)

its a modem only, not a modem/router combo.

potatobreath wrote:

Who's your internet service provider, and what modem did they give you?

Often, the modem is acting as a router too, and it's scrambling connection data from the internet before it reaches your personal Linksys router. You have to turn off the routing on the modem. It's called "bridging". There's probably a guide online that someone else in the same boat as you are in left behind. If you have that info, you can look for a guide.

Message 5 of 11 (664 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
PlayStation MVP
Registered: 12/16/2008
Offline
7785 posts
 

Re: Unit 13 Coop NAT 3 Issue

Mar 7, 2012

That's odd. Does your PS3 stay at NAT Type 2 in the Internet Connection Test if you check a few times?

Does your Linksys router have the newest firmware update from the Linksys website? You should be able to find downloads in the support section. Firmware updates fix bugs and increase performance.

Message 6 of 11 (664 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Gaming Beast
Registered: 05/07/2003
Offline
2268 posts
 

Re: Unit 13 Coop NAT 3 Issue

Mar 7, 2012

Yeah, my PS3 stays NAT 2. Its been that way for a long time. Ive just now run the test a few times in a row. Turning PS3 on and off each time and it stays NAT2. My linksys router has the latest firmware for the model.. upgraded it earlier today.. one of the first troubleshooting things i did..

i actually give up.. four and a half hours of my life wasted to get it working with no luck..

Message 7 of 11 (664 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
PlayStation MVP
Registered: 12/16/2008
Offline
7785 posts
 

Re: Unit 13 Coop NAT 3 Issue

Mar 7, 2012

Try jotting down all of your custom router settings and then resetting the router settings to defaults, if you haven't tried that already.

Message 8 of 11 (664 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Gaming Beast
Registered: 05/07/2003
Offline
2268 posts
 

Re: Unit 13 Coop NAT 3 Issue

Mar 7, 2012

Yeah.. did this about three hours ago..

Message 9 of 11 (664 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Gaming Beast
Registered: 05/07/2003
Offline
2268 posts
 

Re: Unit 13 Coop NAT 3 Issue

Mar 7, 2012

So after nearly 5 hours of trying unsuccessfully to get the COOP part of Unit 13 working I give up. I decide Im just going to sit back and play some Single Player.. I load up a mission and start playing and decide that I want to bump up my turn speed.. i pause the game, make the adjustment, and get back into mission....

Sound cuts out. Vita crashes, forcing me to hard reset it.. first time having to do that since owning the Vita..

So now Im cursing the Vita and Zipper...

Message 10 of 11 (664 Views)
Reply
0 Likes