Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Dec 30 2011
By: Darkside-Raven First Son 7 posts

Why won't my PS3 play streaming video files from media sever, but will when connected via USB?

9 replies 5748 views Edited Dec 30, 2010

So I have a bunch of movies on an external hard drive, some are .avi's  and some are .mpgs and .mpg4's and all that. I plug it in via USB and  they all play just fine, I have been doing this for a few years. I just  went out and got a bigger wireless hard drive that is compatible with  PS3 and transferred all of my movies over, I added some music and  pictures also to test out. The PS3 found the hard drive/media server  instantly, the music plays, and the pictures show up crystal clear, but  now all of the videos say they are an unsupported video type and won't  play. I can't find any info out there on this. Lots of people say  because it's a different codec and PS3's don't read all codecs, well it  played it before when directly attached via USB and now it doesn't when  its wireless. It sees the video files, but when I click on them it tries  to load and comes up and says that it's unsupported. I don't get it... I  tried a bunch of different videos, all which have worked numerous times  in the past and no go on any of them.

The hard drive I am using is a My Book World Edition 1TB. Before I had a  really old whatever brand 80GB hard drive from like 6-7 years ago.

Any ideas?

Message 1 of 10 (5,748 Views)
0 Likes
First Son
7 posts

Re: Why won't my PS3 play streaming video files from media sever, but will when connected via USB?

Dec 30, 2010

BTW this drive is meant to stream video to the PS3 or XBox360...

http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.aspx?id=300

Message 2 of 10 (5,748 Views)
0 Likes
PlayStation MVP
487 posts

Re: Why won't my PS3 play streaming video files from media sever, but will when connected via USB?

Dec 30, 2010