Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Jul 11 2011
By: A_Cry_For_Death First Son 5 posts

PS3 Game Save Data Utility Back-Up Questions

7 replies 16012 views Edited Jul 11, 2011

Please let me know if I am posting this in the wrong forum section, I'm a little new at this.

So my PS3 has recently overheated and I'm pretty sure the fan has blown out, and my warranty is still good (the warranty is with a retailer and not Sony). My question has to do with what data I can back up in game save. I know that my trophies will be saved as long as I sync them, already done that.

Two options: I could back up my data on my PS3 and swap out the hard drive onto another PS3, but I'm not sure if that would be smart considering if any damage has been done to the hard drive since the PS3 overheated.

Next I could save my game save data onto an external hard drive, then trade in my PS3 for a new one. If I do this I'm not sure if everything will stay the same or if any changes will be made. In specific, (It's kind of kinky, I know...) I was wondering if I were to save Modern Warfare 2 if my Special Ops Status Completion and Campaign Status Completion will stay the same. I know the question with Modern Warfare 2 doesn't have to do with 'Support', sorry about that.

Any tips or advice in a specific direction of what I should do with this would be greatly appreciated.

Please use plain text.
Message 1 of 8 (16,012 Views)
0 Likes
PlayStation MVP
13624 posts

Re: PS3 Game Save Data Utility Back-Up Questions

Jul 11, 2011

You can't swap your PS3 hard drive into another PS3 in order to transfer data.  Any PS3 hard drive can be used in any other PS3, but only after it has been reformatted.  No PS3 can read internal hard drive data written by any other PS3.