Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Dec 11 2007
By: gothchild Hekseville Citizen 283 posts
Offline

TCP/UDP

13 replies 15 views Edited Dec 11, 2007
ok was reading the trouble shooting section and it says if you can access the internet but not the PSN then it could be a firewall issues and gives TCP and UDP ports. do you have to put both or just TCP. not sure if i'm understanding but i thought they are the same just TCP is more reliable. some help please.
psn gothchild
Message 1 of 14 (15 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Survivor
Registered: 06/04/2007
Offline
2617 posts
 

Re: TCP/UDP

Dec 11, 2007
what type of router are you using, and how are
you connected (wired or wirelessly)?
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
PSN ID:Wrangler06 (DFA WarHawk Team Leader) **The DFA WarHawk clan wants you!!**
*Click the link and check us out, or send me a PM if you're interested.*
You Should be Folding@Home Team # 55265
"A man is a god in ruins."-RWE
Message 2 of 14 (15 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Hekseville Citizen
Registered: 11/07/2006
Offline
283 posts
 

Re: TCP/UDP

Dec 11, 2007
wireless and belkin54g
psn gothchild
Message 3 of 14 (15 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Survivor
Registered: 06/04/2007
Offline
2617 posts
 

Re: TCP/UDP

Dec 11, 2007


gothchild wrote:
wireless and belkin54g

I have a link to a guide that shows the ports that you probably need to
forward if you need it (and yes I think that you use a mixture of both TCP and UDP).
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
PSN ID:Wrangler06 (DFA WarHawk Team Leader) **The DFA WarHawk clan wants you!!**
*Click the link and check us out, or send me a PM if you're interested.*
You Should be Folding@Home Team # 55265
"A man is a god in ruins."-RWE
Message 4 of 14 (15 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Hekseville Citizen
Registered: 11/07/2006
Offline
283 posts
 

Re: TCP/UDP

Dec 11, 2007
yeah dude i saw your post, you were helping someone and left that one there. i put my ps3 in a DMZ as a static ip do i really have to got through all that crap that guy posted.
psn gothchild
Message 5 of 14 (15 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Survivor
Registered: 06/04/2007
Offline
2617 posts
 

Re: TCP/UDP

Dec 11, 2007


gothchild wrote:
yeah dude i saw your post, you were helping someone and left that one there. i put my ps3 in a DMZ as a static ip do i really have to got through all that crap that guy posted.

if you're wanting to forward ports then yes, but if you put the PS3 in the DMZ then
you don't need to forward any ports and the problem is something else.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
PSN ID:Wrangler06 (DFA WarHawk Team Leader) **The DFA WarHawk clan wants you!!**
*Click the link and check us out, or send me a PM if you're interested.*
You Should be Folding@Home Team # 55265
"A man is a god in ruins."-RWE
Message 6 of 14 (15 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Survivor
Registered: 06/04/2007
Offline
2617 posts
 

Re: TCP/UDP

Dec 11, 2007
did you disable the upnp in the router's settings after you put the
PS3 in the DMZ?
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
PSN ID:Wrangler06 (DFA WarHawk Team Leader) **The DFA WarHawk clan wants you!!**
*Click the link and check us out, or send me a PM if you're interested.*
You Should be Folding@Home Team # 55265
"A man is a god in ruins."-RWE
Message 7 of 14 (15 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Hekseville Citizen
Registered: 11/07/2006
Offline
283 posts
 

Re: TCP/UDP

Dec 11, 2007
no should i
psn gothchild
Message 8 of 14 (15 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Survivor
Registered: 06/04/2007
Offline
2617 posts
 

Re: TCP/UDP

Dec 11, 2007


gothchild wrote:
no should i

yes you need to because if you don't the router still tries to use the same ports it
has been using.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
PSN ID:Wrangler06 (DFA WarHawk Team Leader) **The DFA WarHawk clan wants you!!**
*Click the link and check us out, or send me a PM if you're interested.*
You Should be Folding@Home Team # 55265
"A man is a god in ruins."-RWE
Message 9 of 14 (15 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Hekseville Citizen
Registered: 11/07/2006
Offline
283 posts
 

Re: TCP/UDP

Dec 11, 2007
ok so leave it in the DMZ disable upnp, is that with or without portforwarding?
psn gothchild
Message 10 of 14 (15 Views)
Reply
0 Likes