Apr 15 2013
By: pidgezero_one First Son 8 posts

[RESOLVED, FINALLY!] PSN has been disconnecting me for months.

[ Edited ]
8 replies 19358 views Edited May 16, 2013

Please read the entire post. I have tried pretty much every standard-fix for PSN connection issues, and not a single one has worked. Thanks in advance for any new suggestions.

I have a 60GB phat PS3 that I bought second-hand. I started playing PSABR back in December. My connection was fine, never dropped, it was a blast, etc. School picked up and I stopped playing PS3 for about 2 months. I started playing again, but my PS3 only rarely connects to PSN now, and when it does connect, the connection drops within seconds. This has been going on since February.

My PS3 ALWAYS succeeds IP address assignment and internet connection tests. It fails at connecting to PSN.

Here's what I've tried so far, none of which have solved the problem:

• Custom wireless connection on my PS3, manual IP address (192.168.0.235). I used ipconfig /all to find my default gateway to be 192.168.0.1 (NOT 192.168.1.1), my subnet mask is 255.255.255.0, and also to find my DNS servers.
  • I have tried my ISP's DNS servers, Google DNS, and this thread's suggestion of using your default gateway as your DNS.
  • I have disabled UPnP, am not using a proxy, have automatic MTU, and have Media Server disabled. On the rare occasion when I can connect, my NAT is Type 2. I have tried enabling UPnP and Media Server, it did not help.
  • My router is running in Mixed B/G mode so that my PSP-1001 can get online.
  • Ports 80, 443, 465, 983, 3478-3480, 3658, 5223, 8080, 10070-10080 are all forwarded to 192.168.0.235. I have contacted my ISP (Rogers) and they have told me that none of these ports are blocked.
  • DMZ is set up with 192.168.0.235 as the host.
  • For a while I had a dd-wrt router set up as a client bridge, to which my PS3 was connected via Ethernet. This did not fix the problem.