Jun 03 2012
By: SgtBlackTh0rne First Son 3 posts

PS3 VIRTUAL MEMORY PROBLEMS

12 replies 1840 views Edited Jun 3, 2012

I recently purchased a new PS3 320gb Bundle pack from Gamestop. When I got it home I obviously could not wait to start playing. When I saw that the Playstation store had PS1 and PS2 classics I of-course went crazy. I immediately purchased 2 games, one for PS1 and the other for PS2. I made both virtual memory cards for each game and assigned them to their individual slots. I then started to play. For the PS1 game I had no issues, but when I started playing the PS2 game, for some reason it could not find the internal memory card. I tried remaking the memory card, redownloading and reinstalling the game. I even resorted to calling customer support to see if we could figure out why it wasn't saving.

After being told to do the same things I had already previously done, I was rudely disconnected. I do my fair share of research, and everyone keeps saying that the new PS3's are not backwards compatible and cannot play PS2 games. I myself thought that was just for the actual discs, not PSN downloads. I will say however if it is true, why are you still selling PS2 games on the PSN? We all know how long it takes to skip through a PS2 game intro. The spamming of the (X) button never seems to make the dialog go any faster =/.

I love Sony and I am a PS fan all the way but I would like a solution to this problem.

I have noticed that when I exit the game, the virtual memory cards have been "kicked-out" of their slots. Maybe that is the problem? If so maybe someone knows a way to fix that.

All help is welcomed and appreciated. I would like to actually play the game I just payed $9.99 for..

Message 1 of 13 (1,840 Views)
0 Likes
MVP Support
27582 posts

Re: PS3 VIRTUAL MEMORY PROBLEMS

Jun 3, 2012