Reply
First Son
Registered: 09/07/2007
Offline
1 posts
 

Re: The ULTIMATE ultimate guide to fixing your NAT

Sep 7, 2007
I Like to say I have got good result from this thread thnx to jg101987
Please use plain text.
Message 21 of 1,042 (416 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Hekseville Citizen
Registered: 08/11/2007
Offline
294 posts
 

Re: The ULTIMATE ultimate guide to fixing your NAT

Sep 7, 2007
?ve got a u.s robotics wireless maxg router
 
model:5461A
 
I dont know how to get in my settings , and becouse of this,I cant play most of my games online
 
Hoping that u can help
 
thnx...
Please use plain text.
Message 22 of 1,042 (416 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Hekseville Citizen
Registered: 08/11/2007
Offline
294 posts
 

Re: The ULTIMATE ultimate guide to fixing your NAT

Sep 7, 2007
?f u could give me a prpar answerwith hw to get on my router settings becouse no one has
 
so please just give me  a propar answr
Please use plain text.
Message 23 of 1,042 (416 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 09/10/2007
Offline
1 posts
 

Re: The ULTIMATE ultimate guide to fixing your NAT

Sep 10, 2007
quick question, i dont get the part where you have to enter your default gateway number into the address bar when you open your browser. I do that but all i get is page cannot be displayed. How do i get the command prompt to pop up??

o and 1 more thing, how do find out what type your NAT is presently on.


Message Edited by Johnnyx23 on 09-10-2007 12:02 AM
Please use plain text.
Message 24 of 1,042 (416 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
I Only Post Everything
Registered: 09/21/2007
Offline
1381 posts
 

Re: ULTIMATE GUIDE to fixing your NAT

Sep 25, 2007
Since you obvioulsy know what your doing, i have a networking question for you.  Do i still need to have UPnP enabled on my router if i forwarded all my ports??  I've heard that this might cause problems.  And what is the deal with the whole Media Server issues and fixes?
 
I'm a NAT 2 but me and my buddy are having issues connecting with each other in Rainbox 6 Vegas.  He can't join a room I created and I can't join a room he creates.  And when we join a 3rd party room together, we can't hear each other over our mic's.  i know he's a NAT 2 as well (i set up his network)  So thats why i'm asking the above question.
 
Any help would be awesome!!


Message Edited by Mattearl on 09-25-2007 04:04 PM
WE WANT FIRMWARE UPDATE (2.17+)

Photobucket

Please use plain text.
Message 25 of 1,042 (416 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Survivor
Registered: 02/21/2007
Offline
2655 posts
 

Re: ULTIMATE GUIDE to fixing your NAT

Sep 25, 2007
another thread on getting nat 2..
completely different from all the others ive tried....
hopefully this one works..
ill try later. 
Please use plain text.
Message 26 of 1,042 (416 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Wastelander
Registered: 08/06/2005
Offline
680 posts
 

Re: The ULTIMATE ultimate guide to fixing your NAT

Sep 25, 2007
Thank god I have NAT 2 and don't have to go through that stuff!
f1cken
Please use plain text.
Message 27 of 1,042 (416 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Survivor
Registered: 02/21/2007
Offline
2655 posts
 

Re: The ULTIMATE ultimate guide to fixing your NAT

Sep 26, 2007



8) Go into your PS3
9) Select Network Settings under the Settings Menu



10)Select Internet Connection Settings



11)Instead of choosing Easy, we will do things the complicated way Press right until you get to Address setting, and then choose custom.



12)Go right until you get to the page that says" Select the operation mode of the selected device. and choose manual settings.



13) Now continue until you get to the page with all of the numbers on it (presets are all zeros)



Enter the information as follows

Enter your Primary DNS as the 1st DNS number you got earlier from your PC
Enter your Secondary DNS as the 2nd DNS Number you got from your PC
Enter your Default Gateway (linksys default was 192.168.1.1)
Enter your Subnet Mask (linksys default was 255.255.255.0)
To make it easy, use 192.168.1.23 as the IP address

Note: If you are following this guide and you use a router
that is not a linksys, then the ip address and the default
gateway will be different. Reply below or PM me to get the
correct numbers.



14) Go to the right until you get to the screen that says "press X to save" do so, and press "test connection on the next screen.




There you go, your PS3 now has a static IP address.
But your PS3 will still test as NAT type 3. there is one more step.


Message Edited by jg101987 on 08-23-2007 11:39 AM

when i choose custom address setting i could never get to the select operation mode....
any help
Please use plain text.
Message 28 of 1,042 (416 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Lombax Warrior
Registered: 05/27/2007
Offline
191 posts
 

Re: The ULTIMATE ultimate guide to fixing your NAT

Sep 26, 2007
There is one thing that folks forget about in relation to this NAT type 3 issue... some DSL ISPs provide broadband via their own routers which have firewalls or block ports that are often used for P2P connections. (I guess they are trying to limit bandwidth use in the guise of "we're trying to stop illegal filesharing") To test this, connect your PS3 directly to the modem and let your PS3 setup the network automatically. If you still get a NAT type 3, then you are behind your ISP's firewall on their router. Call your ISP to get a public ip address; you shouldn't have to buy a static ip.

Caution for DSL subscribers! It may require you to do a DHCP release on your router before hooking up your ps3 to the modem. Only problem is that the PS3 doesn't allow you do to do a DHCP release so you can hook your router back up. For my dsl service, it could take up to 4 hours to reassign the ip without properly releasing the ip address.

Hope this helps anyone who still has NAT type 3 after trying everything with their PS3 and personal routers. It was the only way I was able to get NAT type 2.
Please use plain text.
Message 29 of 1,042 (406 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 09/22/2007
Offline
8 posts
 

Re: The ULTIMATE ultimate guide to fixing your NAT

Sep 26, 2007
I tried this out today, and I still have a NAT 3. I even went to Linksys, and they helped me put everything in, I only just now changed the Static IP. I even turned the DMZ on for the PS3, I think I may be behind a Firewall at the DSL building.

Thanks a lot though.
PSN:smileyfrustrated:icarius23





Please use plain text.
Message 30 of 1,042 (406 Views)
Reply
0 Likes