Reply
Jun 02 2013
By: villalobos404 First Son 6 posts
Offline

How to get two ps3s Open Nat type on black ops 2??

12 replies 274 views Edited Jun 2, 2013
Hello
I have two ps3s, my brothers and mine. His nat type is always open but I can never be open. I tried everything like resetting the router multiple times, disconnecting everything from the Internet (my phones, iPods, laptops,etc). Is there a way I can make them both be open? Please and thank you!

Oh yeah and I have Comcast High speed Internet with a Cisco router. Thanks
Message 1 of 13 (274 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Uncharted Territory
Registered: 10/25/2007
Offline
1581 posts
 

Re: How to get two ps3s Open Nat type on black ops 2??

Jun 2, 2013

What is the model number of router?

 

What nat type do you get?

Message 2 of 13 (270 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 05/15/2012
Offline
6 posts
 

Re: How to get two ps3s Open Nat type on black ops 2??

Jun 2, 2013
I am always moderate and it says model number M20 on the back. Thanks
Message 3 of 13 (267 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Splicer
Registered: 12/28/2006
Offline
62 posts
 

Re: How to get two ps3s Open Nat type on black ops 2??

Jun 3, 2013

Firt of all, are you wired? if you are, then your brother PS3 is probably set as the DMZ host as default, so you can't be open

Message 4 of 13 (250 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
MVP Support
Registered: 12/18/2002
Offline
18773 posts
 

Re: How to get two ps3s Open Nat type on black ops 2??

Jun 3, 2013

villalobos404 wrote:
Hello
I have two ps3s, my brothers and mine. His nat type is always open but I can never be open. I tried everything like resetting the router multiple times, disconnecting everything from the Internet (my phones, iPods, laptops,etc). Is there a way I can make them both be open? Please and thank you!

Oh yeah and I have Comcast High speed Internet with a Cisco router. Thanks

 

The easiest way it to enable UPnP on the router and on both PS3s.

 

The more technical way will require the use of DMZ and Port-forwarding; save yourself the trouble and just enable UPnP.

 

7FXb|Thunderstorm Summer[Twitter] @SevenFactors Welcoming Committee 2.0 MVP
Message 5 of 13 (247 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 05/15/2012
Offline
6 posts
 

Re: How to get two ps3s Open Nat type on black ops 2??

Jun 3, 2013
UPnP is enabled and we are both wireless.
Message 6 of 13 (238 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 02/10/2013
Offline
22 posts
 

Re: How to get two ps3s Open Nat type on black ops 2??

Jun 4, 2013
I have a belkin surf300 and windstream Internet service. I have opened cod ports, I have assigned a ip to my ps3 a d the put it in dmz. Still strict nat, how do I fix this or who can I call to come out and just fix it for me? I don't see what more I can do to fix it.
Message 7 of 13 (233 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 02/10/2013
Offline
22 posts
 

Re: How to get two ps3s Open Nat type on black ops 2??

Jun 4, 2013
Also I have enabled the upnp.
Message 8 of 13 (232 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Highlighted
First Son
Registered: 02/10/2013
Offline
22 posts
 

Re: How to get two ps3s Open Nat type on black ops 2??

Jun 4, 2013
I'm plugged directly into the router.
Message 9 of 13 (230 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
MVP Support
Registered: 12/18/2002
Offline
18773 posts
 

Re: How to get two ps3s Open Nat type on black ops 2??

[ Edited ]
Jun 4, 2013

villalobos404 wrote:
UPnP is enabled and we are both wireless.

My previous post does not factor in the fact that both of you want to play the same game online at the same time. The router will only open ports for one internal IP at a time.

 

A possible solution to this is to disable UPnP and enable port-forwarding. Enabling port-forwarding requires a static IP and having a static IP will create a constant. The constant will be the one PS3 to which the static IP will be assigned to. This will allow you guys to know which PS3 will always be getting NAT Type 2. The idea here is that this PS3 will be use to create/host COD games. The other PS3 will be used to join the lobby/game being hosted by the other PS3.

 

 

Static IP

Below is a pic of my Port Forwarding settings to 192.168.1.150 which is the static IP I assigned to my PS3. In order for this to work you must assign a static IP to your PS3. Depending on your router, you can obtain a static IP as follows.

 

1) using an IP outside of your router's DHCP server IP range [e.g. DHCP range is 192.168.1.100 - 192.168.1.140 if so then you will use IPs that fall after those, like 192.168.1.141 or 192.168.1.150

2)If you router has the feature, "reserve" an IP

 

The IP you end up choosing/reserving is the one IP you will use during a PS3 custom network setup under the "IP Address" entry.

 

These are the ports to forward

PSN

TCP Ports: 80, 443, 465, 983, 5223, and 10070 - 10080
UDP Ports: 3478, 3479,  3658, and 10070

 

Call of Duty

UDP Ports: 36081, 3074, 3075, 3478

TCP Ports: 80, 81,443, 3074, 5223 TCP

 

NOTE: You only have to add a port once per protocol [TCP, UDP] Now, if you see that a port is listed for TCP and then again for UDP then select BOTH under Protocol. Below is my port-forwarding setup to use a reference. Keep in mind that we have different routers thus look and perhaps the setup will be different.

 

RT-N66U Port-Forwarding

 

 

 

 

Try this out and let us know how it worked for you.

 

 

7FXb|Thunderstorm Summer[Twitter] @SevenFactors Welcoming Committee 2.0 MVP
Message 10 of 13 (220 Views)