Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
First Son
Registered: 05/19/2008
Offline
8 posts
 

Re: DNS error 80710102 resolved

May 19, 2008

This is driving me nuts. I don't understand what I'm doing wrong. Part of me thinks that is could be the router.

I have checked my ipconfig/all within the CMD and even in the router specs. I entered this information manually into my PS3 console after I tried to do it "Easy" then I went to custom then Scan:

IP: 192.168.1.111

Subnet: 255.255.255.0

Default Router: 192.168.1.2 

DNS: 68.87.68.162

Second DNS: blank

I have left everything else just where it is.

I even did the reset on both the modem and the router several times. The signal is around 50-100% and it will gain the IP address but it will take awhile for it to try to obtain the DNS. Of course - it failed - but you can see that it is trying to log in because it takes to long. I'm running on Comcast High Speed with a cable router and the wireless router is a AirLink101 AR325W. I have done my research on the router and modem and the ISP and the reference says that both work with the PS3. I'm trying to do this wirelessly because the PS3 will be set in a room that is less than 15ft away from the router and the only thing that will be blocking the signal would be walls and a door. The microwave is nowhere near the router or PS3 and I don't own any cordless phones and noone else near me has WiFi nor can they access mine. This is just so upsetting because I have some online games and would love to play them. When I owned my Wii it obtained the WiFi signal without any problems but I don't understand what is going on with the PS3. If anyone out there can help me to get this to work it will be greatly appreciated.

 

Please use plain text.
Message 81 of 379 (44 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 04/05/2008
Offline
7 posts
 

Re: DNS error 80710102 resolved

May 20, 2008
Can any one tell me what routers work with the ps3 and which ones dont like is there a list of some sort i have a speedstreem 6520 with bell super high speed sympatico
Please use plain text.
Message 82 of 379 (44 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 08/31/2007
Offline
17 posts
 

Re: DNS error 80710102 resolved

May 21, 2008

I have this error occasionally. One way I fix it is to just keep hitting the connect button, and it works after a few times.

 

Putting in a music CD worked for me as well. The PS3 will try to retrieve the track names from the CDDB and it will connect itself. Strangely, my PS3 seems to have less problems connecting this way than it does using the GUI front end. Try that. If you see the track names come up, then you are connected.

Please use plain text.
Message 83 of 379 (44 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 05/19/2008
Offline
8 posts
 

Re: DNS error 80710102 resolved

May 23, 2008
I finally have my problem fixed and I'm online having fun in GTAIV. My problem was just a bad router, I didn't want to fork out the money for a new one but the problem was giving me such a headache that I said screw it. I bought a Linksys Wireless-G router and everything became perfect. So, for some of you that are having problems check to see if your modem is in good shape or if it can work with your PS3 and ISP. For the problem I have encounter it is usually the router. If anyone wants to hang with me on GTA my name is HellsingHQ. Hope everyone else can fix thier problem so they can play as well.
Please use plain text.
Message 84 of 379 (44 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 05/29/2008
Offline
1 posts
 

Re: DNS error 80710102 resolved -

May 29, 2008

I have a Zoom AP+4 Wireless Router But the (80710102) DNS error keeps on coming up. the Ps3 finds the IP address but cannot connect to the internet. i cant go online and its driving me crazy. all the DNS numbers i have entered are correct but i still cant use the internet on my console or go online. can any1 help me PLEASE!!!!!!

Please use plain text.
Message 85 of 379 (44 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 06/03/2008
Offline
1 posts
 

Re: DNS error 80710102 resolved

Jun 3, 2008
What is the tetertiary DNS server from my ISP, and how do i get it ??
Please use plain text.
Message 86 of 379 (44 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 06/09/2008
Offline
1 posts
 

Re: DNS error 80710102 resolved

Jun 9, 2008

this took me a lot of head scratching and patience but i finally got it.

 

i connect to the internet with a sprint PCS card which goes into my  Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe Mother Board. This Mother Board is my router. But i am hopeful what i did will work for you as it did for me.

 

My "router" has the local ip address as 192.168.0.1  (so i set  PS# ip to 192.168.0.2)

The Subnet Mask seems to work fine with 255.255.255.255

Default router is same as local IP 192.168.0.1

and DNS is the people at sprint  68.28.186.91 (enter that twice worked for me)

 

to find your ip address, go to your command prompt and type in ipconfig (windows XP)

to find your DNS,          go to your command prompt and type in nslookup(windows XP)

 

My Wireless local are network is set up with a SHARED KEY and WEP encryption

 

Now, if i can just get the PS# to connect when i have ZONE ALARM on. (even though i set 192.168.0.2 as trusted zone) 


 

Please use plain text.
Message 87 of 379 (44 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 06/10/2008
Offline
1 posts
 

Re: DNS error 80710102 resolved

Jun 10, 2008

I know there is tons of information on the DNS error thing and different things work for different people. Believe me when I tell you I've tried nearly everything I've read and nothing worked. After two days of problems I finally fixed mine and am not sure exactly how I did it because all of a sudden it worked but this is what I did.

 

My router is a NETGEAR model:WNDR3300. 

 

I have a desktop with a wired connection to the router. I have a laptop with a wireless connection to the router. The first time I tried hooking up my PS3, wireless, a conflict occured on the laptop and the PS3 would not assign an IP address. When I would enter in the IP address it would go through but get hung up on the Internet Connection part and give the DNS error. I finally gave up on the PS3. I went to the laptop and couldn't get that to connect to the router now. Once I did I now had a conflict with the desktop which I restarted and it was fine. I think somehow it was assigning the same IP Address to each device, I think.

 

Anyway in order to get the laptop working again I had to go in my router and reset a couple of things:

 

1. for NETGEAR it's 192.168.1.1

2. I just renamed my network so I would recognize it as the new one.

3. Then I changed the WEP from 128bit to 64bit and typed in my own ten numbers.

4. I made sure the "Authentication Type" was set to "Shared Key" not "Automatic."

 

Getting my laptop set back up and running I went and took a chance with the PS3. Mind you I had all devices on and connected to the network before hooking up the PS3. And BOOM! Somehow it worked. I can't say for sure what happened but that's it. Good luck to you all and take your time, you'll get it.

 

P.S. For my router I left everything else on auto i.e. no changes to DNS or anything but what I listed above.

 

P.S.S. I also let the PS3 go auto, I just had to enter the WEP key.

Message Edited by shaybird on 06-10-2008 01:24 PM
Message Edited by shaybird on 06-10-2008 01:26 PM
Please use plain text.
Message 88 of 379 (44 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 06/19/2008
Offline
2 posts
 

Re: DNS error 80710102 resolved

Jun 19, 2008
i keep getting this problem. i dont lnow what to do. i use a netgear router
Please use plain text.
Message 89 of 379 (44 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 07/04/2008
Offline
2 posts
 

Re: DNS error 80710102 resolved

Jul 4, 2008

SAME HERE IVE WENT THROUGH LIKE 50 GOOGLE PAGES AND NOTHHING =[

 

Please use plain text.
Message 90 of 379 (44 Views)
Reply
0 Likes