Reply
Highlighted
Oct 04 2012
By: Artayu First Son 5 posts
Offline

Re-Download locations?

6 replies 135 views Edited Oct 4, 2012

 Is it a common issue to have to re-download almost every location after a Home Update?????? This is getting REALLY annoying!

Message 1 of 7 (135 Views)
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 07/04/2011
Offline
6276 posts
 

Re: Re-Download locations?

[ Edited ]
Oct 4, 2012

Yes, this happens quite a bit after updates.

Nothing you can really do about it.

 

I have to redownload the casino, and some of my favorite lounges weekly.

That's without clearing the cache by the way.

Message 2 of 7 (127 Views)
0 Likes
VP of Gaming
Registered: 12/28/2006
Online
34135 posts
 

Re: Re-Download locations?

Oct 4, 2012

you only have to redownload spaces that have been updated. its somewhat of a catch 22. re-downloading spaces sucks, but you need to re-download a space because it was updated and updates are good. Smiley Very Happy


Message 3 of 7 (112 Views)
Hekseville Citizen
Registered: 01/16/2009
Offline
403 posts
 

Re: Re-Download locations?

Oct 4, 2012
There are 2 possible reasons I can think of: (1) either there was an update to the space, or (2) the reason relates to the amount of spaces downloaded in relationship to cache' amount. For example: If 12G only stored 50 spaces (public & private) and you download or update another space, one of your spaces will get bumped off to create room for the newer one; which is the other reason you'll experience re-downloading.

(Anybody...please correct me if my analogy is wrong.)
SmileyTo be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment.
Message 4 of 7 (109 Views)
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 02/23/2011
Offline
5 posts
 

Re: Re-Download locations?

Oct 4, 2012

Guess that is just the whole Beta part of Home! Nothing serious just hate having to do it so much... Thanks guys!

 

Message 5 of 7 (107 Views)
0 Likes
VP of Gaming
Registered: 02/15/2003
Online
28216 posts
 

Re: Re-Download locations?

Oct 4, 2012

When a public or personal space recieves an update, often we will have to redownload it. For those who do not visit Home regularly, it gives the impression that we have to redownload every time we log in. This is only true if you rarely log in, but not true for regular Home users.

The way you play the game is the way you live your life.

Message 6 of 7 (71 Views)
0 Likes
Fender Bender
Registered: 02/14/2010
Offline
2518 posts
 

Re: Re-Download locations?

Oct 4, 2012

I clear my cache usually once per week - which is a good thing to do. After that every space you visit has to be re-downloaded. It's just a memory usage issue, not a beta thing.

Message 7 of 7 (65 Views)
0 Likes