Shinra Executive
29271 posts

Re: Furniture slots

[ Edited ]
May 14, 2013

GameMechanics wrote:

Okay. This is obviously some sort of opinion blender that I wandered into. Kudos one minute, SOB the next. I did not see that coming.

My goal was to help understand what I thought was happening. I have no information about or input into what Sony does. I use Home and have many of the items that use 22 slots. I would benefit as you would if they updated them. As a user I would love it if my items used less slots and I got the benefit for free.

As a developer, I work really hard to make our items use less slots. I imagine that all the people Sony had to make the items are gone (me being one of them). So any updates would require a new person to take the old assets and update them. Since they were written before the memory slot enhancements, they are likely going to take some massaging to get to work right. In my experience, it is all likely to be very time consuming. It may even take longer than starting from scratch.

The cost to reduce the slots depends on the developer and the item.

If you have a thought that Sony is going to read this and form an opinion about this, you are right. They are going to think I am an idiot for posting here and may even tell me to stop trying to help. I would not blame them.

Please continue your regular programming.

Thank you for your honesty and willingness to help us understand what is going on with respect to updating older items. It's appreciated and please don't stop trying to help.

I can remember when these forums only had one developer from EA who posted here when I first started posting years ago. Now we have many. That type of communication is more than welcome. 

We can get testy here at times. It's all part of the fun so to speak. Smiley Happy

Message 21 of 30 (337 Views)
Survivor
1924 posts

May 14, 2013

GameMechanics wrote: