Reply
Nov 26 2008
By: AgeY55 Uncharted Territory 1931 posts
Offline

ps3 settings on a NETGEAR router

16 replies 8766 views Edited Nov 26, 2008
are there certain settings that I need to change in order for my ps3 to work on a NETGEAR wireless router?  every device I own works on this router but my ps3 and my ps3 (along with all the other devices i have) all work on my other router (a linksys)... any ideas what could be the problem?
Message 1 of 17 (8,766 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Fender Bender
Registered: 09/07/2007
Offline
3057 posts
 

Re: ps3 settings on a NETGEAR router

Nov 26, 2008
which one? what is the model?

"Why should I fear death? If I am, death is not. If death is, I am not. Why should I fear that which can only exist when I do not?"
- Epicurus
Message 2 of 17 (8,766 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Uncharted Territory
Registered: 03/27/2008
Offline
1931 posts
 

Re: ps3 settings on a NETGEAR router

Nov 26, 2008

wgr614 v6...

 

 

Message 3 of 17 (8,766 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Uncharted Territory
Registered: 03/27/2008
Offline
1931 posts
 

Re: ps3 settings on a NETGEAR router

Nov 26, 2008
i really need this help... i'm at my girlfriends for thanksgiving weekend and off of work for a few days so i'm trying to get her router up and running but the only thing not working is my ps3 on it.
Message 4 of 17 (8,766 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Gaming Beast
Registered: 03/02/2007
Offline
2008 posts
 

Re: ps3 settings on a NETGEAR router

Nov 27, 2008
Netgear routers never worked for me nor anyone I talked to. Which is why I exchanged it for a Linksys WRT54G and had no problems with it. I reccommend the router to everyone and they love it as well. Sorry man, you're out of luck with that router.
Message 5 of 17 (8,766 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Fender Bender
Registered: 09/07/2007
Offline
3057 posts
 

Re: ps3 settings on a NETGEAR router

Nov 27, 2008

AgeY55 wrote:
i really need this help... i'm at my girlfriends for thanksgiving weekend and off of work for a few days so i'm trying to get her router up and running but the only thing not working is my ps3 on it.

EDIT, you need to do this first:

 

No real short and to the point guides for setting up a static IP on your PS3. You need to set up a static IP to get the DMZ to work properly.

try this one: http://www.pregamelobby.com/forum/sony-reviews-tips/5618-how-get-type-2-open-nat-your-ps3.html

 

 

 

 

 

 then do this:

 

found this mini guide for you:

 

 

"To Create a DMZ for RP614, MR814, FVS318, FVM318, WGR614

  1. Open a Web browser, and type the router's IP address (The router's default IP address is 192.168.0.1). Click Go.
  2. Enter the username and password for the router (Default username is admin and password is password).
  3. From the browser Main Menu select Advanced > Security. Some routers, such as the MR814, use the WAN Setup Options, page, instead.
  4. Enter the server's IP address. (Your PS3's IP address)
  5. Click Apply. "

 

Message Edited by RUBB1SH on 11-26-2008 07:11 PM

"Why should I fear death? If I am, death is not. If death is, I am not. Why should I fear that which can only exist when I do not?"
- Epicurus
Message 6 of 17 (8,766 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Uncharted Territory
Registered: 03/27/2008
Offline
1931 posts
 

Re: ps3 settings on a NETGEAR router

Nov 27, 2008

where can i find the ps3's ip address?

 

Message 7 of 17 (8,766 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Fender Bender
Registered: 09/07/2007
Offline
3057 posts
 

Re: ps3 settings on a NETGEAR router

Nov 27, 2008

AgeY55 wrote:

where can i find the ps3's ip address?

 


You will need to set up a static ip(does not change). OR if it is temporary(this may or may not work, it works with my new Linksys and the older ones I had before also), you can go to the Network Settings>Settings and Connection Status List and find the IP address then just follow the second step I gave you up there^^^
entering the numbers you just saw on your PS3 into the router settings.
Message Edited by RUBB1SH on 11-26-2008 07:17 PM

"Why should I fear death? If I am, death is not. If death is, I am not. Why should I fear that which can only exist when I do not?"
- Epicurus
Message 8 of 17 (8,766 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Uncharted Territory
Registered: 03/27/2008
Offline
1931 posts
 

Re: ps3 settings on a NETGEAR router

Nov 27, 2008
the only number it will let me change on the DMZ is the last one so I cna't put the IP address listed on my ps3
Message 9 of 17 (8,766 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Fender Bender
Registered: 09/07/2007
Offline
3057 posts
 

Re: ps3 settings on a NETGEAR router

Nov 27, 2008

AgeY55 wrote:
the only number it will let me change on the DMZ is the last one so I cna't put the IP address listed on my ps3
the last 3 numbers is all that matters. the others don't change.

example: 192.168.0.1
anything after the first 3 sets of numbers^^^ such as the 1. it could be a single digit or double or triple digit
Message Edited by RUBB1SH on 11-26-2008 07:20 PM

"Why should I fear death? If I am, death is not. If death is, I am not. Why should I fear that which can only exist when I do not?"
- Epicurus
Message 10 of 17 (8,766 Views)
Reply
0 Likes