Reply
Jan 24 2009
By: mw_hav0k First Son 6 posts
Offline

i accidentally restored my system to its default settings...

9 replies 538 views Edited Jan 24, 2009
well my ps3 got fixed and came back, and when i was turning it on i pressed yes to something that came up right after my username selection and it restored all my system settings to default.  now, i don't have internet on it, so how can i put it back on? I have AT&T 2wire wireless router, so what do i do to put my internet back?
Please use plain text.
Message 1 of 10 (538 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Lombax Warrior
Registered: 01/20/2009
Offline
112 posts
 

Re: i accidentally restored my system to its default settings...

Jan 24, 2009
just do what you did th 1st time set everything back up agian
Please use plain text.
Message 2 of 10 (538 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 12/25/2008
Offline
6 posts
 

Re: i accidentally restored my system to its default settings...

Jan 24, 2009

well idk how because my cable company (AT&T) did it for me while i was at school and my dad did it the first time when we had TW cable 

 

 

 

tried doing it myself 

Please use plain text.
Message 3 of 10 (538 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Welcoming Committee
Registered: 11/15/2008
Offline
7389 posts
 

Re: i accidentally restored my system to its default settings...

Jan 24, 2009

mw_hav0k wrote:

well idk how because my cable company (AT&T) did it for me while i was at school and my dad did it the first time when we had TW cable 

 

 

 

tried doing it myself 


Dude are you serious, no offence but your too stupid to have a PS3 If you can't just go to Network Settings and press scan.

Please use plain text.
Message 4 of 10 (538 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Splicer
Registered: 03/19/2008
Offline
89 posts
 

Re: i accidentally restored my system to its default settings...

Jan 24, 2009


chickenbonetom wrote:

mw_hav0k wrote:

well idk how because my cable company (AT&T) did it for me while i was at school and my dad did it the first time when we had TW cable 

 

 

 

tried doing it myself 


Dude are you serious, no offence but your too stupid to have a PS3 If you can't just go to Network Settings and press scan.


give the kid a break.  he doesn't know how to do it so just help him out instead of criticizing him.

Message Edited by skinny95 on 01-24-2009 04:18 AM
Please use plain text.
Message 5 of 10 (538 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 12/25/2008
Offline
6 posts
 

Re: i accidentally restored my system to its default settings...

Jan 24, 2009

alright, really, don't come in here saying that.

 

That was the first thing I tired. I even went to manual or custom and put in the SSID MYSELF, and then went to scan to make sure it would connect but when i do go to scan and pick one of the next 3 options, it tells me "an error has occurred".  so dont tell me what i am and what im not.

 

well, i got my WEP key on there, but the text box only allows like half of my key... >_>

 

 

Message Edited by mw_hav0k on 01-24-2009 06:31 AM
Message Edited by mw_hav0k on 01-24-2009 06:44 AM
Please use plain text.
Message 6 of 10 (538 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
I Only Post Everything
Registered: 01/19/2009
Offline
1048 posts
 

Re: i accidentally restored my system to its default settings...

Jan 24, 2009

AssInfection wrote:
just do what you did th 1st time set everything back up agian

 

correct, an dont press anymo buttons if u don'y know what it's for
Please use plain text.
Message 7 of 10 (538 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 12/25/2008
Offline
6 posts
 

Re: i accidentally restored my system to its default settings...

Jan 28, 2009
umm.. any other help?
Please use plain text.
Message 8 of 10 (538 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 12/26/2012
Offline
4 posts
 

Re: i accidentally restored my system to its default settings...

Dec 26, 2012

Hello,

 

I have done the same thing, it has restored everything like date & time, messages, music, PSN accounts, etc. Although my trophies and saves are still there but when i play a game, it won't let me because it cannot load my trophies. This happened because i went on holiday and i brought my PS3 and wasn't able to connect my console to an old TV, so i held down the on/off button to get it off the HDMI setting and it came up with the menu and i accidentally clicked restore default settings instead of "restart system" <-- Which would have kept everything the way it was. When i got home, I was able to connect to my internet and update my PS3 and create a new PSN account (Unfortunately, you have lost your original one). by doing this my updated PS3 was able to read everything like trophies and saves. Now i can play again.

 

So basically you have to update your PS3 to the latest version and be able to have internet connection.

I hope i helped :/

Please use plain text.
Message 9 of 10 (410 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
PlayStation MVP
Registered: 11/20/2008
Online
10394 posts
 

Re: i accidentally restored my system to its default settings...

Dec 26, 2012
Well, seeing as this thread is more than 2 years old...I highly doubt it.
04/09/2014 - Never Forget
Please use plain text.
Message 10 of 10 (404 Views)
Reply
0 Likes