Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
First Son
13 posts

Re: Why doesnt sony stop hackers

Feb 5, 2011

Back to my point Do any of you guys think that sony will stop the hacking?

Please use plain text.
Message 21 of 30 (196 Views)
0 Likes
Splicer
73 posts

Feb 5, 2011

Hacking will never stop, sadly. Hacking is not what it used to be and now has turned into something that not only affects the 'big bad corporations' but consumers. I won't pretend to understand why hackers do what they do, and in the same turn won't justify what companies do to make $$. But I can respond with an scenario I experienced just tonight.

I've been running out of space on my PS3 Slim HDD for the past 6 months. You might know the loosing battle of more and more great games being released that you want to download and play/demo but having a finite HDD. Well BestBuy had a deal on a Western Digital 500 GB HDD so I jumped. I replaced the HDD on my old PS3 Phat 20GB (BC love!!) many moons ago and it was a quick 30 min. operation. So I thought this would be easy for the Slim. Well after 2 hours trying to get the PS3 to recognize the new HDD and trying to load the lastest firmware (3.56) from a USB stick, external HDD, and a DVD, I discovered an interesting thread on these forums. Apparently firmware 3.56 has reintroduced a past bug that disables the ability to install a new HDD.