Highlighted
Feb 28 2014
By: Venks7 First Son 7 posts

What Oddworld means to me

[ Edited ]
0 replies 199 views Edited Feb 28, 2014

Wasn't really sure what label to use for this one. I really want to talk about my experiences with the Oddworld games and how excited I am for the new one that's coming out on the PS3 and PS4. Wondering if you guys have any stories about these awesome games as well. Anywyas, here goes.

What Oddworld Means To Me

So there I was in a Blockbuster looking for something new to play. My mom didn't want me to rent a game I had already tried so she pointed out one she said looked nice. Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee. I did not want to get that game, but my mom forced me to get it anyways. I had no idea how lucky I was at the time.

Welcome To Rupture Farms

I was completely averse to the game when I first saw it. It didn't look like anything I had ever played before and I was always scared of trying new things. With a little coercion I started playing the game and was at a loss for what was going on. I was playing as this blue guy called Abe who worked as a floor waxer on the biggest meat processing plant on some strange planet called Oddworld. The opening cut scene revealed that Abe's boss was gonna kill him and all of his fellow workers and turn them into food in some attempt to make more money. 

Abe's voice in the cut scene very quickly endeared me to the guy. I wanted to do what ever I could to help him out. Once I figured out the controls I started running and jumping away from the slug looking bad guys with guns. Not long after I came across another Mudokon, one of Abe's friends. As I made my way over to him I noticed a lever in the room. Without a second of hesitation I pulled the lever to see what it would do. The floor beneath the Mudokon's feet gave way and the guy fell into the darkness while yelling in surprise. A moment later I heard a thud followed by a dark musical tune. I accidentally murdered an innocent guy.