Reply
Nov 19 2006
By: free Keyblade Wielder 10897 posts
Offline

Voice Chat Display Setting - kbps readout?

9 replies 110 views Edited Nov 19, 2006
Anyone have any idea what the kbps readout is when you select "display" while voice chatting on the PS3 network?

You get one number (a kbps) in the lower right corner of the person you're chatting to.  Is that his up-load speed to you?  Yours to him?  ETC...

Mine says 103 kbps  and he says he sees 116kbps... either way, that's lower then either of our internet download or upload speeds by quite a bit. 

So, what is that number?
-AKA blykmik
-AKA freestyle
~SOCOM 4 LIFE~
Message 1 of 10 (110 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Keyblade Wielder
Registered: 08/30/2001
Offline
10897 posts
 

Re: Voice Chat Display Setting - kbps readout?

Nov 19, 2006
Where's the most extensive manual on the PS Network?   Nothing that came in the box, that's for sure.
-AKA blykmik
-AKA freestyle
~SOCOM 4 LIFE~
Message 2 of 10 (110 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Highlighted
First Son
Registered: 11/17/2006
Offline
9 posts
 

Re: Voice Chat Display Setting - kbps readout?

Nov 20, 2006
103 kbps

* 1000

103000 bits per second

/8

12875 bytes per second

/1024

12.57 kilobytes per second

my cable modem can easily do 40 kilobytes (KB) per second, so upstream shouldn't be an issue now, the question is, what kind of modem do you have?

Message Edited by Ido_Alpha_Omega on 11-19-2006 04:26 PM

Message Edited by Ido_Alpha_Omega on 11-19-2006 04:26 PM
PROELIUM
Message 3 of 10 (110 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Keyblade Wielder
Registered: 08/30/2001
Offline
10897 posts
 

Re: Voice Chat Display Setting - kbps readout?

Nov 20, 2006


Ido_Alpha_Omega wrote:
103 kbps

* 1000

103000 bits per second

/8

12875 bytes per second

/1024

12.57 kilobytes per second

my cable modem can easily do 40 kilobytes (KB) per second, so upstream shouldn't be an issue now, the question is, what kind of modem do you have?
I'm on Adelphia Cable (Now bought out by Time Warner) - I have a RCA DCM425 digital broadband modem.  My router is a Belkin Pre-N.
 
Speed tests consistently result in speeds of about:
8376 kbps download
861 kbps upload
 
 
I'm not sure I follow your math or what you're trying to say....  Like I said, I just want to know what that readout during PS3 Chat is supposed to be telling me.  I know I get faster upload and download speeds than that.
-AKA blykmik
-AKA freestyle
~SOCOM 4 LIFE~
Message 4 of 10 (110 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Uncharted Territory
Registered: 03/16/2004
Offline
2041 posts
 

Re: Voice Chat Display Setting - kbps readout?

Nov 20, 2006


blykmik wrote:


Ido_Alpha_Omega wrote:
103 kbps

* 1000

103000 bits per second

/8

12875 bytes per second

/1024

12.57 kilobytes per second

my cable modem can easily do 40 kilobytes (KB) per second, so upstream shouldn't be an issue now, the question is, what kind of modem do you have?
I'm on Adelphia Cable (Now bought out by Time Warner) - I have a RCA DCM425 digital broadband modem.  My router is a Belkin Pre-N.
 
Speed tests consistently result in speeds of about:
8376 kbps download
861 kbps upload
 
 
I'm not sure I follow your math or what you're trying to say....  Like I said, I just want to know what that readout during PS3 Chat is supposed to be telling me.  I know I get faster upload and download speeds than that.


Could be the PSN is the limiting factor, not your ISP
Message 5 of 10 (110 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Keyblade Wielder
Registered: 08/30/2001
Offline
10897 posts
 

Re: Voice Chat Display Setting - kbps readout?

Nov 20, 2006
Has anyone else looked at the display readout?    Can you figure out what it is supposed to be telling you?

My friend I was chatting with saw 103kbps on his end so I don't think this is unique to me... I just want to know what that is claiming to be telling us.

Fyi.. i've only done a 2-way chat...
-AKA blykmik
-AKA freestyle
~SOCOM 4 LIFE~
Message 6 of 10 (110 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Keyblade Wielder
Registered: 08/30/2001
Offline
10897 posts
 

Re: Voice Chat Display Setting - kbps readout?

Nov 22, 2006
Ok then... no one knows the answer... I see.


How about this.. .when you voice chat, what numbers do you get?  Are they they same as your known internet upload speed, or much lower?
-AKA blykmik
-AKA freestyle
~SOCOM 4 LIFE~
Message 7 of 10 (110 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
I Only Post Everything
Registered: 09/10/2003
Offline
1359 posts
 

Re: Voice Chat Display Setting - kbps readout?

Nov 22, 2006
Yeah i was just doing a two way chat also and it was reading the same. I would assume it would get lower by how many people you have in the chatroom
Message 8 of 10 (110 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 01/21/2004
Offline
5796 posts
 

Re: Voice Chat Display Setting - kbps readout?

Nov 23, 2006
Why must it use all of your bandwidth?

The number your seeing is probably the amount of bandwidth the voice codec is using up.
Message 9 of 10 (110 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Keyblade Wielder
Registered: 08/30/2001
Offline
10897 posts
 

Re: Voice Chat Display Setting - kbps readout?

Nov 23, 2006


h20 wrote:
Why must it use all of your bandwidth?

The number your seeing is probably the amount of bandwidth the voice codec is using up.


I'm not asking it to..  I'm just asking what it is.

If your guess is right though, wouldn't both people be using the same amount?  Why would there be any variation?
-AKA blykmik
-AKA freestyle
~SOCOM 4 LIFE~
Message 10 of 10 (110 Views)
Reply
0 Likes