Reply
Survivor
Registered: 11/16/2006
Offline
2666 posts
 

Re: Using American PS3 in Asia ?

Jan 25, 2007
Is no-one listening? the PS3 has an auto voltage, that means it can accept power sources of 110 volts all the way up to 240 volts.
 
Guy in india, you are talking cr@p m8, 360 may have blown, but PS3 WILL NOT!!!!
 
Somebody earler posted a damn link to proof of this, look back through this forum FFS!
Message 31 of 43 (57 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Uncharted Territory
Registered: 06/02/2003
Offline
2040 posts
 

Re: Using American PS3 in Asia ?

Jan 25, 2007


AJ_2008 wrote:
I got a ps3 in Philadelphia this summer and brought it back to Malaysia. Im wondering whether i just need an adapter or a transformer ? I posted this question on gamespot.com but 1/2 the people said all i needed was an adapter and the other 1/2 said i needed a transformer. Can anyone give me a reliable source with their answer such as a credible website or if they themselves chose one of these methods. Thankyou in Advance. SONY HELP ME you would be a reliable source


if your ps3 break  then what you doing ?  
 
 
 

 




Message 32 of 43 (57 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Lombax Warrior
Registered: 01/03/2007
Offline
183 posts
 

Re: Using American PS3 in Asia ?

Jan 25, 2007
You need a transformer.
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Message 33 of 43 (57 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Survivor
Registered: 11/16/2006
Offline
2666 posts
 

Re: Using American PS3 in Asia ?

Jan 26, 2007


SIK-LAN-EVO wrote:
You need a transformer.


No you do not.
Message 34 of 43 (57 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Uncharted Territory
Registered: 12/02/2006
Offline
1443 posts
 

Re: Using American PS3 in Asia ?

Jan 26, 2007
American Ps3 is 120v Any higher voltage than that the powersuply will blow up

Asia is 220v you need a converter and a stabalizer

Converter to convert the voltage

Stabalizer To Keep the Voltage stable if any power faliur happens nothing will effect your system

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Message 35 of 43 (57 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Survivor
Registered: 11/16/2006
Offline
2666 posts
 

Re: Using American PS3 in Asia ?

Jan 26, 2007
Im in asia, and its 110volts here.
 
The PS3 has a built in voltage converter much like most newer laptops do these days.
 
I sent a Japanese PS3 to the uk, where it has no problems with the 240 volts.
Message 36 of 43 (57 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
I Only Post Everything
Registered: 07/06/2000
Offline
1347 posts
 

Re: Using American PS3 in Asia ?

Jan 27, 2007
PS3 is a computer, most computer power supplies support 110V or 220V and use to have a manual switch to select the voltage, but several newer power supplies are auto switching.  I really believe based on info provided by others here you don't need anything other than a PC power cable for your region.  I think it was/is a logical choice for Sony to use one power supply for all systems that auto switches to keep the hardware design of the system the same in all regions and just print the label to look like the system is limited to confuse people and prevent export/import (especially due to their staggered releases).  I still recommend a UPS for whatever region your in though, I use a 1200VA UPS on mine (and a few other entertainment compenents).


_____Still want my OtherOS support____________
Sony needs to understand that PS3 3.21 FW provides no security fix. They are only hurting those that have a legitimate use for Linux on the PS3 and also use it for the other functions it was designed to do. Linux stayed on mine until I received RB3 as a gift. I refused to buy a new console to retain all the features my console could do prior to April 1st 2010. I have bought 2 broken 60G units and fixed them for running Linux again.
Message 37 of 43 (57 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Lombax Warrior
Registered: 01/07/2007
Offline
100 posts
 

Re: Using American PS3 in Asia ?

Jan 27, 2007
The PSU of all PS3s is universal 100-250v, you can plug it in anywhere, same as the PSP.  To the guy in India: you do not need your stepdown, just plug it in with a computer cable.
 
Other consoles, eg. Wii and 360, do not have universal PSUs and may need these devices.
Message 38 of 43 (57 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 07/07/2007
Offline
13 posts
 

Re: Using American PS3 in Asia ?

Nov 15, 2007
Sony will not answer you about the voltage issues, believe me I tried, they're against import/export of their units. They even said to me to go back in the US. Just open it up and take a good look at the power supply. If it says a solid 125 volts then sorry IT WILL BLOW UP, then if it says 100-240V then bingo plug and play.
Photobucket
Message 39 of 43 (57 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Splicer
Registered: 02/03/2007
Offline
84 posts
 

Re: Using American PS3 in Asia ?

Nov 15, 2007
You Can trust this cant you?!


Photobucket






PSN Games:
Calling All Cars, Rub A Duck, Stardust, Everyday sh1tter, WARHAWK , Tekken DR Online, Rearmed, Pain.
Message 40 of 43 (57 Views)
Reply
0 Likes