Reply
Gaming Beast
Registered: 01/08/2007
Offline
2290 posts
 

Re: Using American PS3 in Asia ?

Jan 25, 2007
Just check the PS3 if it has this sign or something similar 100v ~ 240v 50/60hz or 100v - 240v ~ 50/60hz then it is auto volt. Meaning it will work from 100v to 240v.


Message Edited by zero3 on 01-25-2007 03:31 AM
Message 21 of 43 (57 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Lombax Warrior
Registered: 12/14/2006
Offline
280 posts
 

Re: Using American PS3 in Asia ?

Jan 25, 2007
Message 22 of 43 (57 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 01/25/2007
Offline
10 posts
 

Re: Using American PS3 in Asia ?

Jan 25, 2007
does it mean because it works in the UK it works in asia ?
Message 23 of 43 (57 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 01/17/2007
Offline
32 posts
 

Re: Using American PS3 in Asia ?

Jan 25, 2007
if the power is 220, you need a step down converter.
at the moment I am in India, I bought the Japanese Version which is 110V just like the american version, so do not plug it up or you may blow it, it happened to me with my 360. I got it in the US, when I plugged it, the brick blew, lucky for me on the 360 the power supply is external, on the PS3 that is not the case who knows what else you may blow..
Message 24 of 43 (57 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Wastelander
Registered: 12/12/2006
Offline
722 posts
 

Re: Using American PS3 in Asia ?

Jan 25, 2007


dpcaliber wrote:
if the power is 220, you need a step down converter.
at the moment I am in India, I bought the Japanese Version which is 110V just like the american version, so do not plug it up or you may blow it, it happened to me with my 360. I got it in the US, when I plugged it, the brick blew, lucky for me on the 360 the power supply is external, on the PS3 that is not the case who knows what else you may blow..



exactly what I was saying...
Photobucket
Message 25 of 43 (57 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 01/25/2007
Offline
10 posts
 

Re: Using American PS3 in Asia ?

Jan 25, 2007
can anyone recommend a specific step down converterr
Message 26 of 43 (57 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Lombax Warrior
Registered: 12/14/2006
Offline
280 posts
 

Re: Using American PS3 in Asia ?

Jan 25, 2007
Why don't you do a forum search on this voltage issue?
Message 27 of 43 (57 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 01/25/2007
Offline
10 posts
 

Re: Using American PS3 in Asia ?

Jan 25, 2007
I HAVE STILL YET TO FIND A STRAIGHT ANSWER
Message 28 of 43 (57 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 09/01/2001
Offline
18 posts
 

Re: Using American PS3 in Asia ?

Jan 25, 2007
Lol! I from Malaysia too. I playing with US PS3 (Bought in Jackson Best Buy) for a while. It still don't blow up yet.

No need surge protector and step down transformer for PS3. It take any household voltage the earth can supply.


Message 29 of 43 (57 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 01/25/2007
Offline
10 posts
 

Re: Using American PS3 in Asia ?

Jan 25, 2007
hey finally someone with experience. whats up i just moved here tuesday from the dominican republic. im still worried by the fact that you said it hasnt exploded yet ... thanks anyway
 
Message 30 of 43 (57 Views)
Reply
0 Likes