Reply
Lombax Warrior
Registered: 12/14/2006
Offline
280 posts
 

Re: Using American PS3 in Asia ?

Jan 25, 2007
If you believe the Malaysian power supply is reliable enough to not have spikes and surges, then you don't need the surge protector and line conditioner.
Message 11 of 43 (107 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 01/25/2007
Offline
10 posts
 

Re: Using American PS3 in Asia ?

Jan 25, 2007
what do you mean reliable enough ? the power hasnt gone out and ive been here for 5 days
Message 12 of 43 (107 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Wastelander
Registered: 12/12/2006
Offline
722 posts
 

Re: Using American PS3 in Asia ?

Jan 25, 2007


Nereith wrote:
If you believe the Malaysian power supply is reliable enough to not have spikes and surges, then you don't need the surge protector and line conditioner.


I wouldn't trust it without one over there...but 220 would be under-powering the PS3..
Photobucket
Message 13 of 43 (107 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 01/25/2007
Offline
10 posts
 

Re: Using American PS3 in Asia ?

Jan 25, 2007
can someone tell me EXACTLY what i need to buy
Message 14 of 43 (107 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Gaming Beast
Registered: 01/08/2007
Offline
2290 posts
 

Re: Using American PS3 in Asia ?

Jan 25, 2007
The US PS3 is around 220v to 240v. To protect from power surges you should get a voltage regulator or a surge protector and for power failure get a UPS for back up power.
Message 15 of 43 (107 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Survivor
Registered: 11/16/2006
Offline
2666 posts
 

Re: Using American PS3 in Asia ?

Jan 25, 2007
You DO NOT need anything, the PS3 can accept power from any country.
 
This is not just an opinion, it is a fact as it contains a multi converter.
 
 
---------------REPEAT, YOU DO NOT NEED ANY CONVERTER OR ADAPTOR-------------------
Message 16 of 43 (107 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Wastelander
Registered: 12/12/2006
Offline
722 posts
 

Re: Using American PS3 in Asia ?

Jan 25, 2007


nipponfighter wrote:
You DO NOT need anything, the PS3 can accept power from any country.
 
This is not just an opinion, it is a fact as it contains a multi converter.
 
 
---------------REPEAT, YOU DO NOT NEED ANY CONVERTER OR ADAPTOR-------------------


can your provide a link for this statement?
Photobucket
Message 17 of 43 (107 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Survivor
Registered: 11/16/2006
Offline
2666 posts
 

Re: Using American PS3 in Asia ?

Jan 25, 2007
The only reliable link would be a official Sony statement, but thats not going to happen as Sony is 100% against the import/export of PS3.
 
I can verify that i have sent a PS3 from here in Japan (110 volts) to my brother in the UK (240 volts) and has no problems, plus go do a ggogle search and you will find many confirmations, as well as on these boards.
Message 18 of 43 (107 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 01/03/2007
Offline
7755 posts
 

Re: Using American PS3 in Asia ?

Jan 25, 2007


elutej wrote:


nipponfighter wrote:
You DO NOT need anything, the PS3 can accept power from any country.
 
This is not just an opinion, it is a fact as it contains a multi converter.
 
 
---------------REPEAT, YOU DO NOT NEED ANY CONVERTER OR ADAPTOR-------------------


can your provide a link for this statement?





Why not just call customer support? They'd be able to tell you. If you're worried that they might not want to because you using it in Asia, I'd just tell them you are visiting and will be there awhile but wanted to take your PS3 with you. Personally, with a 600 dollar system, I'd call just to be sure.
Message 19 of 43 (107 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Wastelander
Registered: 12/12/2006
Offline
722 posts
 

Re: Using American PS3 in Asia ?

Jan 25, 2007


Stryydr wrote:


elutej wrote:


nipponfighter wrote:
You DO NOT need anything, the PS3 can accept power from any country.
 
This is not just an opinion, it is a fact as it contains a multi converter.
 
 
---------------REPEAT, YOU DO NOT NEED ANY CONVERTER OR ADAPTOR-------------------


can your provide a link for this statement?





Why not just call customer support? They'd be able to tell you. If you're worried that they might not want to because you using it in Asia, I'd just tell them you are visiting and will be there awhile but wanted to take your PS3 with you. Personally, with a 600 dollar system, I'd call just to be sure.

I'm not the original poster of this thread..i'm not the one trying to take my PS3 anywhere except my living room...
Photobucket
Message 20 of 43 (107 Views)
Reply
0 Likes