I Only Post Everything
1153 posts

Re: Ultra-Slow Internet speed on the PS3

Mar 29, 2011

Yea it's cool Smiley Happy. I just don't like being told I'm wrong whether I am or not lol. I would tell you to do a traceroute, but I have no idea what the servers' ip addresses or domain names are. I would still recommend talking to charter and they might be able to contact the owners of the servers that your traffic goes through to make sure nothing is wrong. It's highly unlikely that your PS3s are the causes.

Message 21 of 23 (123 Views)
0 Likes
First Son
7 posts

Mar 29, 2011

I posted in another thread about this problem. I am not a network tech, but I am a software engineer, take it for what you will.

Problems:

PS3 very slow when streaming, downloading, and signing into PSN. hulu plus is almost unsuable, netflix might work on low res with a few buffering moments, and VuDu is a nogo.

I have a 25Mbps cable connection. When hulu wil not run on the PS3, I can watch the same show, at 720p on my wireless laptop on the same network, the same distance from my router and it is perfectly fine. This holds true for all other streaming services.

Things I have done to trouble shoot:

Wired connection - Sometimes works, sometimes doesnt.

Called my ISP to see if they are somehow throttling packets coming from the PS3. The guy was clueless. This is actually my number 1 suspicion.. Again , I am not a network engineer, so i may be talking out my ass on that.

I Finally broke down and bought a new PS3, I had a ceche01 and figured it was old and had seen better days, I bought a 160gb slim. EXACT SAME ISSUE. - Okay it has to be my netowork

I had an old wrt54g. Bought a new Cisco e3000 - 160 bucks...-SAME ISSUE.

By process of elimiation, the problem is either in the PS3, or With certain ISP's.

Things I know about the problem: