Highlighted
Apr 17 2011
By: pirate2120 Lombax Warrior 169 posts

Six-axis motion sensing system

8 replies 2010 views Edited Apr 17, 2011

Can someone please better explain how the Six-axis motion sensing system (three-axis gyroscope, three-axis accelerometer) will work. I am bit fuzzy on some of the key details and am wondering if someone can give me extra insight on it. Please... ps I am not very tech savvy, for some reason I feel like tech hates me, but I try

Message 1 of 9 (2,010 Views)
0 Likes
Uncharted Territory
1680 posts

Re: Six-axis motion sensing system

Apr 17, 2011

Hey Man hit up this thread and watch and read these links you will get all the NGP info you need that we as posters have found so far until E3. And I my self am not that tech. I have friends who are PC's that keep me informed.

Post ur NGP Link Info

There is a bunch of good info on the NGP as of yet here. Enjoy.

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
PhotobucketPhotobucket
Message 2 of 9 (2,010 Views)
0 Likes
I Only Post Everything
1306 posts

Apr 17, 2011

Six axis reffers to the MEMS accelerometer/gyroscope in the NGP and the PS3 PS Move.

A MEMS gyroscope works with "yaw", "roll" and "pitch" movements. The motions are illustrated below,

http://www.findmems.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/12/Gyro-01.gif

The term "six degrees of freedom" usually associated with gyros refers to the MEMS gyrometer's  X, Y, Z in-plane forces and the MEMS accelerometers X, Y, Z real-world plane forces. Combined, these inputs allow for creating the effects seen in NGP games such as Hot Shots Golf,

(Starting @ 1:30. End @ 2:58)

Another example in TPS mode would be Uncharted for the NGP when Nathan Drake swings on a vine and a player uses exaggerated "yaw" movements to swing forward and back.

Message 3 of 9 (2,010 Views)
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
7402 posts

Apr 17, 2011

Wakefulness wrote:

Six axis reffers to the MEMS accelerometer/gyroscope in the NGP and the PS3 PS Move.