Reply
Sep 16 2010
By: elkay74 Splicer 79 posts
Offline

Samsung 3D TV- PN50C490 and PS3 compatibilty

18 replies 723 views Edited Sep 16, 2010

Hi All,

 

I am planning to buy this Samsung Plasma PN50C490 this weekend.

 

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B003XDU6EQ/ref=asc_df_B003XDU6EQ1250333?
smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER&tag=pg-497-25-20...

 

 

Pros: TV with 2 glasses is less than $1000.00, 50 inch Screen, 600Hz

 

Cons: Only outputs 720p

 

Now that PS3 3D games would only  output in 720p as being said by Sony, Is this TV a wise choice.

Also most of the PS3 game i bought is only 720p.

 

Please guide me, whether should I go for this or not. Are there any other cons that i am not aware of

 

 

Thanks

 

LK

 

 

 

Message 1 of 19 (723 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Fender Bender
Registered: 10/16/2009
Offline
3221 posts
 

Re: Samsung 3D TV- PN50C490 and PS3 compatibilty

Sep 16, 2010

Other than the fact that blu-ray movies (2D and 3D) will be in 1080p, not really.

Game 1: Giants 11-7 Rangers       Game 4: Giants 4-0 Rangers            GIANTS WIN THE WORLD SERIES!
Game 2: Giants 9-0 Rangers         Game 5: Giants 3-1 Rangers                             2010 Champs!
Game 3: Rangers 4-2 Giants
Go Giants!


PyrrhusRex Trophy Card

                               | Uncharted 2 Stats | Learn to Google |

    Modern War Gear Solid

Message 2 of 19 (723 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Splicer
Registered: 07/01/2010
Offline
79 posts
 

Re: Samsung 3D TV- PN50C490 and PS3 compatibilty

Sep 16, 2010

Hi ,

 

Thanks for the quick response, But other than the 1080p is there any other thing i should be worried about

 

Thanks

 

LK

Message 3 of 19 (723 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 11/30/2009
Offline
3 posts
 

Re: Samsung 3D TV- PN50C490 and PS3 compatibilty

Oct 11, 2010

I wish I could give you some good news on this, but as it happens I bought the very TV you're talking about, and even with a new HDMI 1.4a '3d' cable, I can not get it to work in 3d mode when trying to play 'Monster House 3D' which is a blu-ray3D release.

 

I consistently get this message:  "3d experience requires 3d enabled tv & player"

 

My setup is:

 

PS3 (original 60G version w/ hardware PS2 support)  updated to 3.50 firmware.

 

Samsung 50" Plasma 'PN50C490' with shutter glasses

 

HDMI 1.4a cable from Vizeo

 

Monster House 3D -- no matter what I try to do, it keeps saying "3d experience requires 3d enabled tv and player"

Message 4 of 19 (723 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Fender Bender
Registered: 10/16/2009
Offline
3221 posts
 

Re: Samsung 3D TV- PN50C490 and PS3 compatibilty

Oct 11, 2010

Did you try going to your display settings and redoing it? If you select HDMI again, it should register that you have a 3D device connected and enable 3D on your PS3.

 

The cable itself doesn't matter. As long as it's a 1.3 (cat 2) cable, it should handle 3D just fine.

Game 1: Giants 11-7 Rangers       Game 4: Giants 4-0 Rangers            GIANTS WIN THE WORLD SERIES!
Game 2: Giants 9-0 Rangers         Game 5: Giants 3-1 Rangers                             2010 Champs!
Game 3: Rangers 4-2 Giants
Go Giants!


PyrrhusRex Trophy Card

                               | Uncharted 2 Stats | Learn to Google |

    Modern War Gear Solid

Message 5 of 19 (723 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 01/11/2009
Offline
6519 posts
 

Re: Samsung 3D TV- PN50C490 and PS3 compatibilty

Oct 11, 2010
tbh get 1080p for 3D its only when you see the biggest difference
Message 6 of 19 (723 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Fender Bender
Registered: 11/16/2008
Offline
4080 posts
 

Re: Samsung 3D TV- PN50C490 and PS3 compatibilty

Oct 11, 2010

Well for 3D u mite want to see if you can find a 1080p TV

Dopeboy_8732 Trophy Card

Message 7 of 19 (723 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 01/11/2009
Offline
6519 posts
 

Re: Samsung 3D TV- PN50C490 and PS3 compatibilty

Oct 11, 2010
Message 8 of 19 (723 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Splicer
Registered: 06/29/2010
Offline
57 posts
 

Re: Samsung 3D TV- PN50C490 and PS3 compatibilty

Oct 11, 2010

Malendryn wrote:

I wish I could give you some good news on this, but as it happens I bought the very TV you're talking about, and even with a new HDMI 1.4a '3d' cable, I can not get it to work in 3d mode when trying to play 'Monster House 3D' which is a blu-ray3D release.

 

I consistently get this message:  "3d experience requires 3d enabled tv & player"

 

My setup is:

 

PS3 (original 60G version w/ hardware PS2 support)  updated to 3.50 firmware.

 

Samsung 50" Plasma 'PN50C490' with shutter glasses

 

HDMI 1.4a cable from Vizeo

 

Monster House 3D -- no matter what I try to do, it keeps saying "3d experience requires 3d enabled tv and player"


hi, may I ask if you are runing the cable thru an a/v reciever on the way to the tv?

Message 9 of 19 (723 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 11/30/2009
Offline
3 posts
 

Re: Samsung 3D TV- PN50C490 and PS3 compatibilty

Oct 12, 2010

 


StephenOU812 wrote:

Malendryn wrote:

I wish I could give you some good news on this, but as it happens I bought the very TV you're talking about, and even with a new HDMI 1.4a '3d' cable, I can not get it to work in 3d mode when trying to play 'Monster House 3D' which is a blu-ray3D release.

 

I consistently get this message:  "3d experience requires 3d enabled tv & player"

 

My setup is:

 

PS3 (original 60G version w/ hardware PS2 support)  updated to 3.50 firmware.

 

Samsung 50" Plasma 'PN50C490' with shutter glasses

 

HDMI 1.4a cable from Vizeo

 

Monster House 3D -- no matter what I try to do, it keeps saying "3d experience requires 3d enabled tv and player"


hi, may I ask if you are runing the cable thru an a/v reciever on the way to the tv?


 

Nay,  it's direct wired, PS3 straight to the TV via HDMI.   I do have an audio receiver but it's wired into the loop as the TV's external sound output.  There's nothing interfering with the input at all.

 

Also to answer other questions, when I first connected the TV the PS3 said "I see you have an HDMI device attached, should I make that the primary ..."    but it may be worth my while to do it again.  when it asked me that was before I had upgraded to a 'modern' hdmi 1.4a cable.  I'll give that a try later on.

Message 10 of 19 (723 Views)
Reply
0 Likes