Reply
Dec 09 2008
By: RTNDO128 Splicer 74 posts
Offline

Port Forwarding for 2 PS3's

7 replies 1185 views Edited Dec 9, 2008

With all these "2 PS3's same network" topics I've been seeing today, I remembered that I had to ask a similar question.  I currently own a PS3, and my brother is getting one for Christmas.  My PS3 is assigned a static IP and port forwarded through my Linksys WRT54G (DD-WRT Firmware).  I am out of slots to use to port forward, and was wondering how to port forward to 2 PS3's with different IP's.  I am going to set up his internet, and I want to avoid any of the problems I've read about today like not being able to have both online at the same time and such. 

If port forwarding isn't going to work, then can someone explain how we can both be online at the same time with no issues?  Just for a little backround, my PS3 has the "wired" connection checked, but I have an ethernet cable going from my PS3 to a Linksys WGA54G wireless gaming adapter, so essentially it is wireless.  For my brother's PS3, I will just have it hooked up to the internet via the built in wireless (the new 80 GB's still have that right?)

Thanks again and all help will be greatly appreciated.

Message Edited by RTNDO128 on 12-09-2008 03:40 PM
Message 1 of 8 (1,185 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Sackboy
Registered: 02/24/2007
Offline
593 posts
 

Re: Port Forwarding for 2 PS3's

Dec 9, 2008

you can put one PS3 in the dmz and then port forward the other PS3 and you should have no problems. that's what I did and I have no issues.

 

And yes, all new PS3's have wireless. I think only the original 20 gigs didn't.





Message 2 of 8 (1,185 Views)
Splicer
Registered: 05/05/2005
Offline
74 posts
 

Re: Port Forwarding for 2 PS3's

Dec 9, 2008

RoyalHighness wrote:

you can put one PS3 in the dmz and then port forward the other PS3 and you should have no problems. that's what I did and I have no issues.

 

And yes, all new PS3's have wireless. I think only the original 20 gigs didn't.


Thanks for the quick reply.  I've never done anything with the DMZ, but I have to enable it on my router correct?  And also will the DMZ'd PS3 need a static IP?  I take it that this will give both PS3's nat type 2?

Message 3 of 8 (1,185 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Splicer
Registered: 05/05/2005
Offline
74 posts
 

Re: Port Forwarding for 2 PS3's

Dec 13, 2008
bump.
Message 4 of 8 (1,185 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 12/17/2010
Offline
2 posts
 

Re: Port Forwarding for 2 PS3's

Dec 17, 2010

This doesn't work on my wrt610n for Black Ops. Ever since that game came out all of a sudden my Nat Type 2 is always showing as moderate or strict. I tried port forwarding but that didnt' work I tried the DMZ and that didn't work I also have 2 playstations. I don't know what to do for this game but it is nearly impossible for me to connect to other players this of course only after they made update 1.04. Before I didn't have this connection issue with my friends.

Message 5 of 8 (1,185 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Fender Bender
Registered: 12/09/2007
Offline
3171 posts
 

Re: Port Forwarding for 2 PS3's

Dec 18, 2010

i think opening the ports is for the router only so every device connected to it can use the ports so i don't think you need to open the same ports again just for a second ps3

Drago
Message 6 of 8 (1,185 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
I Only Post Everything
Registered: 01/11/2007
Offline
1071 posts
 

Re: Port Forwarding for 2 PS3's

Dec 18, 2010

Turn off DMZ and port forwarding and just make sure UPnP is enabled on the router and the PS3's.  I have 4 of them on my network with the WRT54G stock firmware.  That's all you need since UPnP will allow the PS3's to dynamically negotiate the ports they need.

Message 7 of 8 (1,185 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Highlighted
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 12/16/2008
Offline
7785 posts
 

Re: Port Forwarding for 2 PS3's

Dec 18, 2010
What SmokeNMirrors said. Don't make it hard on yourself by manually port forwarding ports; use UPnP. It's year 2010, not year 2000.
Message 8 of 8 (1,185 Views)
Reply
0 Likes