Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Oct 23 2011
By: interceptor007 First Son 2 posts
Accepted Solution

PS3 overheated?

7 replies 519 views Edited Oct 23, 2011

So i have an 80 gb ps3, the one that came with the motorstorm pack. it has backwards compatibility and 4 usb ports. Yesterday i started playing arkham asylum, and while installing the game, the ps3 just shut down. It's red light was blinking, and it turned off. I looked it up, and found out it had overheated. So today I vacuumed out the fans, and tried to turn it on again, but after around 3 minutes, it shuts off again, with the red light blinking. It hasnt YLOD'd yet, but i think it will. Any idea how to fix this?

Message 1 of 8 (519 Views)
0 Likes
PIayStation MVP
12905 posts

Re: PS3 overheated?

Oct 23, 2011

Vaccuming the vents isn't good enough, you need at the very least change the thermal paste and thermal pads for the PS3 to cool itself more efficiently. I wrote about this in a guide you can access through the link below...

Message 2 of 8 (519 Views)
0 Likes
First Son
1 posts

Oct 23, 2011

Is the blinking red light different from YLOD?

I have the same in my 60G PS3 but the lab guys stated there is no cure.

YLOD is a yellow light blinking?

I don't understand how Sony have a product with a bad cooling design with no guaranty for their failure.

Thanks !

Message 3 of 8 (519 Views)
0 Likes
PlayStation MVP
25168 posts

Oct 23, 2011

mlrUsa wrote:

I don't understand how Sony have a product with a bad cooling design with no guaranty for their failure.

Thanks !