Reply
Mar 21 2013
By: Nagol25 First Son 16 posts
Offline
Accepted Solution

PS2 high def?

25 replies 376 views Edited Mar 21, 2013

Hi, I have a PS2 that I don't play much anymore. Is there a converter or something to make it high(er) def? I'm using the AV cable that came with it.

 

Thanks!

Message 1 of 26 (376 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Naughty Paw
Registered: 12/06/2011
Offline
19728 posts
 

Re: PS2 high def?

Mar 21, 2013
To my knowledge, there is nothing that you can do to enhance the picture of the PS2, since it doesn't support HD cables and the like.

Some PS2 games are available on the PlayStation Store, however. If those games have a native HD display, then you can play the games in HD on a PS3 instead. On PS2, I'm pretty sure there's nothing you can do.
Message 2 of 26 (369 Views)
Lombax Warrior
Registered: 03/08/2009
Offline
199 posts
 

Re: PS2 high def?

Mar 21, 2013

There component cables on the market, and from the startup menu, choose progressive scan.

 

It looks good, not great but good!!

 


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Banned for getting my account hacked!
. . . . . . .
Banned for asking why in the forums!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Message 3 of 26 (367 Views)
First Son
Registered: 03/19/2013
Offline
16 posts
 

Re: PS2 high def?

Mar 21, 2013

Thanks! I will get some from amazon!

Message 4 of 26 (361 Views)
Naughty Paw
Registered: 12/06/2011
Offline
19728 posts
 

Re: PS2 high def?

Mar 21, 2013

Madducky wrote:

There component cables on the market, and from the startup menu, choose progressive scan.

 

It looks good, not great but good!!

 


 

Is that what progressive scan did? I always wondered what it did, since I was never able to use it and always questioned why I couldn't use it. It gives higher resolution?

 

Huh. It doesn't affect me anymore, but I guess you DO learn something every day. My PS2 had the cable that connected via the cable portion of the TV (like an antenna does), so I guess I never got to use progressive scan. Smiley Indifferent

Message 5 of 26 (355 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Wastelander
Registered: 03/01/2009
Offline
809 posts
 

Re: PS2 high def?

[ Edited ]
Mar 21, 2013

The PS2 does have HD games but you need component cables to be able to play them in 1080i also with component cables most PS2 games are playable in widescreen and in 480p

  • PS2 HD Games
  • Gran Turismo 4 - Only in NTSC-J and NTSC-U/C versions.
  • Jack@SS: The Game 
  • Tourist Trophy - Only in NTSC-J and NTSC-U/C versions.
  • Valkyrie Profile 2: Silmeria - Only in NTSC-J version with specific code.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_PlayStation_2_games_with_HD_support

  Component AV Cable

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B000MIXFWA/ref=nosim/6553221-rg1864-00-20?s=merchant&m=ATVPDK...

 

My gaming history - NES, PS1, PS2, GBA SP, NDS, PS3, Xbox 360, Xbox One
Message 6 of 26 (350 Views)
First Son
Registered: 03/19/2013
Offline
16 posts
 

Re: PS2 high def?

Mar 21, 2013
Yeah, I didn't know that either! I'm thinking about playing some of the old games I never beat since I have a Xbox 360 (I know, i'm a trader) now and thought I would see if I could get it to look any better.
Message 7 of 26 (343 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 03/19/2013
Offline
16 posts
 

Re: PS2 high def?

Mar 21, 2013
Message 8 of 26 (340 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Lombax Warrior
Registered: 03/08/2009
Offline
199 posts
 

Re: PS2 high def?

Mar 21, 2013

You were going RF?

That's like the worse of the worse, it's one step above sombody telling you how good it looks!!

 

Seriously though, going component sharpens up the picture and upscales everything to 480p. Kind of like how the Dreamcast did by going VGA. It's a night and day difference.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Banned for getting my account hacked!
. . . . . . .
Banned for asking why in the forums!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Message 9 of 26 (337 Views)
Naughty Paw
Registered: 12/06/2011
Offline
19728 posts
 

Re: PS2 high def?

Mar 21, 2013

Madducky wrote:

You were going RF?

That's like the worse of the worse, it's one step above sombody telling you how good it looks!!

 

Seriously though, going component sharpens up the picture and upscales everything to 480p. Kind of like how the Dreamcast did by going VGA. It's a night and day difference.


 

Guess I never cared to try. Thanks for telling us, though. Always thought the PS2 looked fine on my old TV with the antenna cable. Smiley Tongue

Message 10 of 26 (329 Views)
Reply
0 Likes