Would you be willing to answer a few brief questions about PlayStation Forums?
I was just wondering if it does this for everybody or if there is a setting on my Vita that I have to enable this feature?
yes it does it to everybody.
Ok, cool! I thought I was doing something wrong. Thanks.
yeah, does it to everyone to save battery by turning off network features when theyre not needed
And if you press the PS button to return to the live area, you will automatically reconnect to your Wi-Fi network.