Reply
First Son
Registered: 11/12/2012
Offline
1 posts
 

Re: NAT Type 2 Tutorial

Nov 12, 2012

Okay, I guess it's my turn,

 

I have tried every tutorial variety I have thus far seen on here (DMZ mode, port forwarding, bridge mode, etc.) and have had NO luck getting out of NAT type 3.  All I wanna do is be able to play with my friend on Borderlands 2.  

I have a Linksys E2500 w/cisco connect.  There is no seperate modem, the router connects righ to the antenna (KY WiMax satellite DSL- we live in the boonies- its not super fast, but it gets the job done).

 

Any help would be greatly appreciated and repaid in sexual favors Smiley Tongue

 

Thank you and goodnight.

Message 201 of 238 (540 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 11/13/2012
Offline
1 posts
 

Re: NAT Type 2 Tutorial

Nov 13, 2012

hi caa u help me i'm using rocket hub from rogers and i'm stuck since i can't find the ports to open

i'm using 

3G27WV-R - 3G WiFi Rocket Hub

and i always get NAT type 3

i can't seem to find a way to go to type 2

Message 202 of 238 (530 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 09/23/2012
Offline
2 posts
 

Re: NAT Type 2 Tutorial

Nov 18, 2012

Hello, I used to have your exact same problem and no matter what tutorial I followed, I could not change my NAT type from a type 3 to a type 2. I have recently switched internet providers from Keyon (One of the worst internet providers ever) to CableOne, and instantly my NAT type switched to NAT type 2. On both providers we have been on the 1.5mpbs plan, however, Cableone is much more stable and truer to it's listed speed than Keyon. Your best bet on getting a type-switch would be to switch internet providers and get a new modem. It sounds like a hefty invesment, but Cableone gives free installation, and its 1.5mbps plan is the same price (19.99) as Keyons 1.5mpbs plan. Not only will you be able to change your NAT type, but your internet speeds will increase so you can surf the web much faster.

Message 203 of 238 (512 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 11/16/2007
Offline
5049 posts
 

Re: NAT Type 2 Tutorial

Nov 19, 2012

¤ Some internet service providers block ports automatically.  I used to do work for a company that automatically did this and all the customers had to do was call in and have the ports unblocked on their connection and everything was fine.

 

Some companies do this and others don't.

 

Playstation PlusPlatinum Trophy  PSN ID: SpoolnBad                              Add Me On FacebookPSN ID: SpoolnBad"No, no, he didn't slam you, he didn't bump you, he didn't nudge you ... he rubbed you. And rubbin', son, is racin'." -- Harry Hogge
Message 204 of 238 (507 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Lombax Warrior
Registered: 02/07/2011
Offline
145 posts
 

Re: NAT Type 2 Tutorial

Nov 19, 2012

will it matter if i choose 192.168.1.254 for my ps3?

Message 205 of 238 (502 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 11/16/2007
Offline
5049 posts
 

Re: NAT Type 2 Tutorial

Nov 19, 2012

aamirshah wrote:

will it matter if i choose 192.168.1.254 for my ps3?


¤ Depends on your DHCP settings in your router.  I have mine set to only allow 15 DHCP users max, with a starting IP of .100 and my router will only give out IP addresses up to .114  My PS3's IP address is set to .107 which is out of range of any computers and handheld devices on my network when they connect so there will never be an IP conflict(which there shouldn't be anyways as the .107 IP is reserved for the PS3 only)

 

So if your DHCP settings allow 255 users, then you can use the .254 IP address for your PS3

Playstation PlusPlatinum Trophy  PSN ID: SpoolnBad                              Add Me On FacebookPSN ID: SpoolnBad"No, no, he didn't slam you, he didn't bump you, he didn't nudge you ... he rubbed you. And rubbin', son, is racin'." -- Harry Hogge
Message 206 of 238 (493 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 12/12/2012
Offline
6 posts
 

Re: NAT Type 2 Tutorial

Dec 12, 2012

Why i no see pictures Smiley Sad

Message 207 of 238 (428 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 12/18/2012
Offline
1 posts
 

Re: NAT Type 2 Tutorial

Dec 18, 2012
I have type 2 NAT but in cod it says I have strict NAT but I want it moderate or open
Message 208 of 238 (398 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Lombax Warrior
Registered: 12/17/2007
Offline
141 posts
 

Re: NAT Type 2 Tutorial

Jan 27, 2013
thanks for the help!!!
Feel free to add me coronakid71

Message 209 of 238 (321 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 08/09/2009
Offline
14 posts
 

Re: NAT Type 2 Tutorial

Feb 4, 2013

If anybody could help me out that would be great,

I have a linksys router and a zyxel modem.  I tried to play online this friday but it won't allow me to due to my NAT 3 status.  I never had this problem before but am unaware of any changes made while I was overseas.  I had the same setup a year earlier with no online trouble and utilized the online setup.  Has anyone had trouble with a similar setup?  I have tried port triggering, and opening up the ports and DMZ, to no avail.  Is my problem unique?  Is there something I could be missing.  Im not much of a techie, any specific help would be greatly appreciated. 

Message 210 of 238 (287 Views)
Reply
0 Likes