Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Oct 08 2012
By: DanSD Sackboy 551 posts

Locked ("Copying Prohibited") Game Save Files

2 replies 4293 views Edited Oct 8, 2012

chaos_789 wrote: 

A flash drive cannot back up protected saves, which is what many people like using cloud storage for. that's probly why it wasn't brought up.

This was originally a reply to this topic, but it's strayed too far from the original topic, and I don't want to hijack.

I didn't even know games saves being locked was a thing.  After a bit of research, I see forums littered with threads complaining about this for the past few years.  I haven't had to back up my saves, but I'd like the option to if my PS3 starts showing signs of technical problems and I don't have a spare USB drive as large as the data on my PS3 hard drive (which, I'm sure, most people do not).  Is this an issue with the Xbox 360 as well?

So, unless I have a paid subscription to PS Plus, I have to backup everything from my PS3 hard drive, currently 139 GB worth of data, in order to backup my locked game save files which are less than 5 MB combined, and yet, if my PS3 completely crashes, then I lose my backed up locked saves anyway, because they won't restore to a new PS3.  Makes sense.

Sony gives us a very inconvenient way to back up locked save files, but refuses to give us the easy way?  Someone explain that logic to me.

I can't think of any good reason for this feature.  It doesn't hurt me if someone wants to cheat in their games.  And if someone's going to modify their game save to get an advantage for an online game, this isn't going to stop them.  They'll simply connect their PS3 hard drive into their PC and mod the save that way.

This is opening up some potential issues for me:

Can non-locked PS3 saves that have been copied to a flash drive, be copied to a different PS3, without using the Data Transfer Utility?