Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Mar 07 2011
By: mobci83 First Son 2 posts
Offline

Is the PS3 dual voltage?

[ Edited ]
19 replies 23204 views Edited Feb 11, 2014

I just recently moved from the US to Hong Kong. I notice at the bottom of the PS3 it says that is 120V and 60 Hertz and I have heard that the PS3 is dual Voltage. I was hopping someone could confirm that. Since Hong Kong is 220V and not 120V I am afraid that if I plug it in it would fry my system. I currently have a 120gb PS3 slim. Thanks again for the help. 

 

Edit - Added label

Please use plain text.
Message 1 of 20 (23,204 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Hekseville Citizen
Registered: 02/14/2009
Offline
406 posts
 

Re: Is the PS3 dual voltage?

Mar 7, 2011

I am sure that the ps3 support 220 volts

Yes, your power supply is universal, 100–240V. You just need the right power cord.

Please use plain text.
Message 2 of 20 (23,202 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 03/07/2011
Offline
2 posts
 

Re: Is the PS3 dual voltage?

Mar 7, 2011

Thanks man for the quick reply! I will go get the power cord.

Please use plain text.
Message 3 of 20 (23,202 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Hekseville Citizen
Registered: 02/14/2009
Offline
406 posts
 

Re: Is the PS3 dual voltage?

Mar 7, 2011

when i meant powr cord. i meant the prongs. the USA prongs are different  from each country. so get the prong that they use in HOng Kong. the way you plug in a cord into the wall. or get an adaptor the will go on the ps3 cord.

Please use plain text.
Message 4 of 20 (23,202 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
I Only Post Everything
Registered: 12/30/2009
Offline
1344 posts
 

Re: Is the PS3 dual voltage?

Mar 7, 2011

Spiderboy646 wrote:

I am sure that the ps3 support 220 volts

Yes, your power supply is universal, 100–240V. You just need the right power cord.

Question, if you have a older model, like say the CECHE01 (which I have) is it only 120 Volts or just universal? Although, there are such thing like a Voltage Converter or something. Which can convert 220/240 volts to 100-120 volts. But If your traveling International, the power cord will be different than the American Standards.

Please use plain text.
Message 5 of 20 (23,202 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
PIayStation MVP
Registered: 07/14/2000
Offline
12905 posts
 

Re: Is the PS3 dual voltage?

Mar 7, 2011

Ix_DarkDragon_ wrote:

Spiderboy646 wrote:

I am sure that the ps3 support 220 volts

Yes, your power supply is universal, 100–240V. You just need the right power cord.

Question, if you have a older model, like say the CECHE01 (which I have) is it only 120 Volts or just universal? Although, there are such thing like a Voltage Converter or something. Which can convert 220/240 volts to 100-120 volts. But If your traveling International, the power cord will be different than the American Standards.

All PS3 models have universal power supplies, the only thing that will vary is the power cord...

Please use plain text.
Message 6 of 20 (23,202 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 11/11/2011
Offline
2 posts
 

Re: Is the PS3 dual voltage?

Nov 11, 2011

Hey. I live in India and am using an American PS3 (CECH-3001A). All the recent PS3 models have universal power supply compatibility. I can confirm this. However some of the older models do not. I do not have a list of all the models that lack this feature but all the reports of fried PS3s I've heard are from the 60GB versions; THIS DOES NOT MEAN THAT IF YOUR PS3 IS NOT A 60GB VERSION IT IS SAFE TO PLUG IN WHEREVER THE BLEEP YOU WANT. If you do not mind taking apart your PS3 it is easy to check, most are marked 100-240 V although the box/manual just prints the standard regional voltage.

This link might help determine which parts your PS3 has:
http://www.ps3devwiki.com/index.php?title=Power_Supply

Please use plain text.
Message 7 of 20 (23,202 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
PIayStation MVP
Registered: 07/14/2000
Offline
12905 posts
 

Re: Is the PS3 dual voltage?

Nov 12, 2011

I was mistaken before, I believe the only exception to the universal power supply is the PAL 60GB PS3 (CECHC01) model. That power supply APS-227 is not compatible with voltages under 220V. I had to verify this fact independently, as that chart in the link your provided doesn't have the correct compatible voltage range listed for the APS-227 power supply...

Please use plain text.
Message 8 of 20 (23,202 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Ghost of Sparta
Registered: 06/27/2003
Offline
17388 posts
 

Re: Is the PS3 dual voltage?

Nov 15, 2011


GTA V FTW !

PSN : Stackcluster
Born young, not dead yet !
Please use plain text.
Message 9 of 20 (23,203 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 07/17/2012
Offline
2 posts
 

Re: Is the PS3 dual voltage?

Jul 17, 2012

Ok, I realize it has been said a few times that all PS3 models are universal...but I need to ask someone to get specific. I'm American, stationed in Germany, and I have a 20gig PS3, model CECHB01. The label says 120v. I do have a transformer, but I'd rather not use it if I don't have to (it really racks up the power bill.) AperireMens....I tried using the link that you offered but I can't get it to work. Yes, my PS3 still has the american style power cord, but we have the adapters for that. Is the CECHB01 model dual voltage or not?

Please use plain text.
Message 10 of 20 (22,967 Views)
Reply
0 Likes