Reply
May 28 2012
By: jockhater2 First Son 25 posts
Offline

If I buy a Vita from Hong kong, taiwan, U.K. or other country can I use the 3G?

24 replies 148 views Edited May 28, 2012

On any cell phone carrier?

From what I read. Only the Japan and U.S. versions are locked to AT&T. I would just go get a plan with AT&T but they want me to depost $500 down for the plan. That is just rediculous.

So If I pick up one from another country. Will it work with Sprint/Virgin mobile?

Also will one from hong kong, taiwan, U.K. work with U.S. games and such?

Please use plain text.
Message 1 of 25 (148 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Hekseville Citizen
Registered: 03/06/2011
Offline
415 posts
 

Re: If I buy a Vita from Hong kong, taiwan, U.K. or other country can I use the 3G?

May 28, 2012

Deposit $500.. WHAT?

Photobucket
Please use plain text.
Message 2 of 25 (148 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Sackboy
Registered: 02/13/2012
Offline
582 posts
 

Re: If I buy a Vita from Hong kong, taiwan, U.K. or other country can I use the 3G?

May 28, 2012

Holy shit , i think you better go to the at&t store or call sony cuz dat ain't right.

Please use plain text.
Message 3 of 25 (148 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
PlayStation MVP
Registered: 08/28/2008
Online
7500 posts
 

Re: If I buy a Vita from Hong kong, taiwan, U.K. or other country can I use the 3G?

May 28, 2012

There is no deposit required on a pre-paid plan, which is what the Vita plan really is.

A $500 deposit would only be required on a two year contract where a free or contract-subsidized smartphone and little or bad credit history is involved.

Since you pay full price for the Vita, there is no contract.


Destiny Beta: Abbarrax
Please use plain text.
Message 4 of 25 (148 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 12/23/2010
Offline
25 posts
 

Re: If I buy a Vita from Hong kong, taiwan, U.K. or other country can I use the 3G?

May 28, 2012

Yes. They said it would be a $500 deposit for a contract with them because I have very little credit history.

I want to use the Vita's 3G option with the current carrier company that I use.

SO. Does anyone know for sure if other countries Vita's are 3G unlocked?

Please use plain text.
Message 5 of 25 (148 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Lombax Warrior
Registered: 10/10/2008
Offline
196 posts
 

Re: If I buy a Vita from Hong kong, taiwan, U.K. or other country can I use the 3G?

May 28, 2012

no, it doesnt sound right. Sounds down right fishy to me. To tell ya the truth, I actually wouldnt spend a dime like that. Thats outrageous!

Please use plain text.
Message 6 of 25 (148 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 12/23/2010
Offline
25 posts
 

Re: If I buy a Vita from Hong kong, taiwan, U.K. or other country can I use the 3G?

May 28, 2012

I also heard rumors that the 3G is only AT&T locked for a few months. and there will eventually be a software update that lifts the restriction? Any word on that?

I have founds posts on ebay saying "Playstation Vita 3G unlocked"

Please use plain text.
Message 7 of 25 (148 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Lombax Warrior
Registered: 10/10/2008
Offline
196 posts
 

Re: If I buy a Vita from Hong kong, taiwan, U.K. or other country can I use the 3G?

May 28, 2012

That may what it be dude, just rumors. Theres been a lot of those flying around all willy nilly, I wouldnt be surprised if that is what it is... a rumor. I dont trust a lot of things said and watch what ppl put out there

Please use plain text.
Message 8 of 25 (148 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 12/23/2010
Offline
25 posts
 

Re: If I buy a Vita from Hong kong, taiwan, U.K. or other country can I use the 3G?

May 28, 2012

Well I have 2 months too wait. My cell phone contract ends in August. So hopefully more things will be made clear. Since AT&T just isn't an option because of that $500 deposit they want.

Please use plain text.
Message 9 of 25 (148 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
PlayStation MVP
Registered: 08/07/2009
Online
11315 posts
 

Re: If I buy a Vita from Hong kong, taiwan, U.K. or other country can I use the 3G?

May 28, 2012

jockhater2 wrote:

Well I have 2 months too wait. My cell phone contract ends in August. So hopefully more things will be made clear. Since AT&T just isn't an option because of that $500 deposit they want.

I don't get it though, if you just follow the instructions on the Vita itself, there is no need for such a thing.

I have NO credit history (I don't have a credit card or anything) and I got to get the 1 month of 3G.

So I don't see why you can't.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Please use plain text.
Message 10 of 25 (148 Views)
Reply
0 Likes