Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Dil
Fender Bender
Registered: 07/09/2006
Offline
4392 posts
 

Re: How to use a USB external Hard Drive on your PS3

Aug 17, 2007
but me i would buy a 2.5 sata hdd

only god can judge me
Please use plain text.
Message 11 of 218 (20,279 Views)
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 10/18/2007
Offline
11 posts
 

Re: How to use a USB external Hard Drive on your PS3

Oct 18, 2007
you have the file structure wrong its
ps3/photo
ps3/music
ps3/video
ps3/game
ps3/update
Please use plain text.
Message 12 of 218 (20,279 Views)
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 11/06/2007
Offline
3 posts
 

Re: How to use a USB external Hard Drive on your PS3

Dec 4, 2007
I downloaded the Swiss Kniff App, but when I run it, it just unpacked, and then nothing happens, I have Norton 360, not sure if that prevents it.What's next? Thanx.
Please use plain text.
Message 13 of 218 (20,279 Views)
0 Likes
Last Guardian
Registered: 10/14/2007
Offline
12787 posts
 

Re: How to use a USB external Hard Drive on your PS3

Dec 23, 2007
most external drives have their own power cord, an is best connected to a battery backup device
Please use plain text.
Message 14 of 218 (20,276 Views)
0 Likes
Uncharted Territory
Registered: 09/17/2007
Offline
1419 posts
 

Re: How to use a USB external Hard Drive on your PS3

May 24, 2008

This is probably old news - but I've found that even if you do not have your files organized in a "video", or "photo" or "music" directory; you can still access all of your folders and files if you click on "display all" from the ps3 menu. For example, if I go into the "video" section and select my external hard drive, then select "display all', I can see all of my various folders and subsequent files. Works like a charm

 

Please use plain text.
Message 15 of 218 (20,276 Views)
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 04/06/2009
Offline
4 posts
 

Re: How to use a USB external Hard Drive on your PS3

Apr 6, 2009
what if i have vista? do i still need the Swiss Knife app?
Please use plain text.
Message 16 of 218 (20,276 Views)
0 Likes
Uncharted Territory
Registered: 08/08/2004
Offline
2023 posts
 

Re: How to use a USB external Hard Drive on your PS3

Apr 6, 2009
I believe Swiss Knife won't work on Vista, but you can use this application by HP.  It worked on my Vista laptop.
Please use plain text.
Message 17 of 218 (20,276 Views)
0 Likes
Big Daddy
Registered: 03/10/2008
Offline
19370 posts
 

Re: How to use a USB external Hard Drive on your PS3

Apr 6, 2009

jussmokedabong wrote:
you have the file structure wrong its
ps3/photo
ps3/music
ps3/video
ps3/game
ps3/update

 

No, you have the file structure wrong.

 

It is:

MUSIC

PICTURE

PS3

PS3\UPDATE

VIDEO

 

Here is the PS3 Folder Structure that needs to be followed. It is important that all the folder names be in all CAPS.

Alternatively, for pictures, music, and videos, you can select the drive/memory card, press , and select Display All, press .

Please use plain text.
Message 18 of 218 (20,276 Views)
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 04/06/2009
Offline
4 posts
 

Re: How to use a USB external Hard Drive on your PS3

Apr 6, 2009

sweet thanks....now i got another question......theres no way to change it to a FAT32 without taking everything off huh. i already have mine full of stuff.

 

and also this might not even be my problem.........when i plug it into the ps3 it doesnt even detect anything there....is this because its still NTFS and not FAT32? like it doesnt even see that i pluged anything into the usb port..

Message Edited by EndingChance on 04-05-2009 11:31 PM
Please use plain text.
Message 19 of 218 (20,275 Views)
0 Likes
Big Daddy
Registered: 03/10/2008
Offline
19370 posts
 

Re: How to use a USB external Hard Drive on your PS3

Apr 6, 2009

EL-SUCIO wrote:
I believe Swiss Knife won't work on Vista, but you can use this application by HP.  It worked on my Vista laptop.

 

Sorry, didn't realize how old the thread was...

 

Some folks said SwissKnife works on Vista, I haven't tried it because I use the HP Utility.  But if you try the SwissKnife program, be sure to "Run as Administrator" same as the HP Utility.

 

But, I use the HP utility all the time, it works great.

Please use plain text.
Message 20 of 218 (20,275 Views)
0 Likes