How do I close a PlayStation®Network account?
Once a PlayStation Network account is created, you can not delete it. It will remain on the PlayStation Network servers forever. If you wish, you may remove it from your PLAYSTATION®3 computer entertainment system so it is no longer visible.
- On the XMB™, go to (Users) and log into the user that holds your PlayStation Network account you want removed.
- With the user name highlighted, press the button.
- Select "Delete" and the user will be deleted.
Please note that if you delete a user, all game save data earned under this user will be deleted as well, be sure to copy any game saves you wish to keep to another user. Click here for information on how to copy games saves on the PLAYSTATION 3.
Closing a PlayStation Network account
If you wish no one to access the PlayStation Network account, you can also have it banned or suspended by Sony Computer Entertainment America (SCEA). To ban or suspend a PlayStation Network account, please contact SCEA Consumer Services' Accounts and Billing line at 1-877-971-7669.
Prior to having your account closed, you will want to deactivate your PLAYSTATION®3 or PSP® portable entertainment system from your PlayStation Network account. Click here to learn how to deactivate your system.
If you would like to use a new (different) account, you will have to create an entirely new PlayStation Network account.
Note: Purchased content cannot be transferred between different PlayStation Network accounts. We apologize for any inconvenience. If you do not wish to lose the items purchased with an account, you are able to edit the account information, as an alternative.
What is a man? (Just look above)... "The ultimate measures of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy".
you actually can delete your PSN account. You have to reset your PS3 system default settings. But to warn you, it resets all your regular settings. When you do this it will tell you everything it resets before you continue but i put it all below straight from the users guide.
The one wanting their PSN account deleted must be logged into their PS3 system account
Go to Settings > System settings > Restore default settings
- When you perform this operation, the system software and the information for the user who is currently logged in will be restored to the default settings. Be careful when performing this operation as changes to the settings cannot be undone. Data loss or corruption is the responsibility of the user.
- When multiple users exist on the PS3™ system, the information that is managed by users other than the user who is currently logged in will not be restored. Information that may be managed by other users and cannot be restored include the following:
- - Sign-in ID and password for Sony Entertainment Network
- - Bookmarks, history and settings added under (Internet Browser)
- - Information about the image set as wallpaper under (Photo)
- - Terms added using (Settings) > (System Settings) > [Add / Edit Term], or predictive terms "learned" by the on-screen keyboard
- - Keyboard or mouse settings under (Settings) > (Accessory Settings)
- - Voice changer settings under (Settings) > (Accessory Settings) > [Voice Changer]
- - Theme, color, background and font settings under (Settings) > (Theme Settings)
- Do not turn off the PS3™ system during this operation. If the operation is cancelled before completion, the system software may become damaged, and the system may require servicing or exchange.
- During this operation, the power button on the system front and the PS button on the wireless controller are not active.
- You cannot use this feature to go back to an earlier version of the system software."