Reply
Apr 23 2010
By: optimisticbranch First Son 7 posts
Offline

HDMI still only on 480p???

15 replies 11041 views Edited Apr 23, 2010

Okay, so I put a post up yesterday cause I was having trouble connecting my HDMI cable to my ps3. Well, FINALLY tonight, I got it connected and got it to come up on the HDMI input. The only thing is, it's still at 480p. Doesn't do much good to be on the HDMI input if it still looks like the AV cables are connected (which they aren't). Anybody know what's up? I've tried over & over again to set it to HDMI correctly. I know my tv is compatible with 480i, 480p, 720p, and 1080i, so that's what I set it as when it asks me to select all resolutions that are supported by my tv. When I click right, The tv then goes black, and when I restart it, it starts up on the HDMi input, but still at 480p. I don't know, I'm completely confused right now so if anybody has any suggestions and/or solutions, that'd be awesome. Thanks!

Message 1 of 16 (11,041 Views)
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 06/13/2009
Offline
21 posts
 

Re: HDMI still only on 480p???

Apr 23, 2010
Try resetting your PS3's display setting turn on it it should say HDMI is detected and will choose the best display fit for your HDTV, I do this to mine and it goes recommends 1080i witch is the best resolution I can get on my PS3
Message 2 of 16 (11,041 Views)
0 Likes
I Only Post Everything
Registered: 01/11/2008
Offline
1278 posts
 

Re: HDMI still only on 480p???

Apr 23, 2010

I have a line on your problem already, When you select 1080p and the screen goes blank you are resetting the PS3, which is a no-no and causes the PS3 to revert back to its default display, you need to switch over to the proper HDMI channel then select OK before the timer is up.

 

1,000th post, 07/07/10
Photobucket
Message 3 of 16 (11,041 Views)
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 04/22/2010
Offline
7 posts
 

Re: HDMI still only on 480p???

Apr 23, 2010

thing is, i'm already on the hdmi channel, so there's no timer to set it up. it's just the output settings aren't right, but it's not letting me change 'em. just goes blank.

Message 4 of 16 (11,041 Views)
0 Likes
I Only Post Everything
Registered: 01/11/2008
Offline
1278 posts
 

Re: HDMI still only on 480p???

Apr 23, 2010

*facepalm*

 

This is not my first time out to the party buddy, whenever you change your display settings you have a set amount of time to confirm the settings before they revert back to the original settings, and if you are setting your HDMI to 1080p then your TV can't support it, try 720i and see if that works. theres just something fishy about this....

 

 

what brand is the TV, size and model number?

1,000th post, 07/07/10
Photobucket
Message 5 of 16 (11,041 Views)
0 Likes
Splicer
Registered: 07/28/2008
Offline
86 posts
 

Re: HDMI still only on 480p???

Apr 23, 2010

You have already stated your tv only supports up to 1080i not 1080p thus you need to set it to 1080i as it's max and then confirm as the other person stated.

 

You can only choose the max resolution your TV offers for it to work.

 

-Saint

Message 6 of 16 (11,041 Views)
0 Likes
I Only Post Everything
Registered: 08/01/2008
Offline
1268 posts
 

Re: HDMI still only on 480p???

Apr 23, 2010

Hi optimisticbranch!  Have you tried letting the PS3 automatically detect the HDMI connection by holding the power button down for about 5 seconds?  Or changing the aspect ratio on your TV?

Message 7 of 16 (11,041 Views)
0 Likes
Wastelander
Registered: 05/10/2009
Offline
930 posts
 

Re: HDMI still only on 480p???

Apr 23, 2010

AUTOMATIC,let the PS3 scan the TV and let it choose the resolutions. The PS3 is smart in this regard. It doesn't try to force a television to do what it can't. (Resolution wise)

mgc2372 Trophy Card
Message 8 of 16 (11,041 Views)
0 Likes
Uncharted Territory
Registered: 07/22/2009
Offline
2070 posts
 

Re: HDMI still only on 480p???

Apr 23, 2010

OP have you tried only selecting 480p, 480i, and 720p being your TV doesn't support 1080p. I did this although my set also supports 1080i I find that 720p looks just as good or better than 1080i. 

Message 9 of 16 (11,041 Views)
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 04/22/2010
Offline
7 posts
 

Re: HDMI still only on 480p???

Apr 23, 2010

okay I got it working! now I have a problem what other people on here were telling me about. I have to turn off the tv whenever I play a game or blue ray, I'm guessing there's no real fix for this since a lot of perople are still doing this lol. but thank you all for your help! thanks for helping me solve my problem

Message 10 of 16 (11,042 Views)
0 Likes