Reply
Highlighted
Jan 19 2012
By: eaglefan129 Treasure Hunter 8824 posts
Offline

Do we have to update the vita?

13 replies 14 views Edited Jan 19, 2012

The two firmware updates do we have to update them? I'm kinda hoping that they come with it. The only good thing in my mind that I'm kinda glad where getting it later we won't be (hopefully) experiencing issues like the Japanese owners might have already.

Message 1 of 14 (14 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Survivor
Registered: 11/16/2006
Offline
2666 posts
 

Re: Do we have to update the vita?

Jan 19, 2012

I would imagine it would come pre installed.

I am in Japan and had zero problems with my launch Vita.

Many of my friends also have launch Vita with zero problems.

Message 2 of 14 (14 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 04/21/2007
Offline
7400 posts
 

Re: Do we have to update the vita?

Jan 19, 2012

gasmask wrote:

I would imagine it would come pre installed.

I am in Japan and had zero problems with my launch Vita.

Many of my friends also have launch Vita with zero problems.

how is the reception of the vita in japan gasmask ? whats the perception of the system over there?

Message 3 of 14 (14 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 02/03/2008
Offline
8824 posts
 

Re: Do we have to update the vita?

Jan 19, 2012

No i'm talking about will they come pre-installed

Message 4 of 14 (14 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Splicer
Registered: 08/17/2011
Offline
48 posts
 

Re: Do we have to update the vita?

Jan 19, 2012

It probably will. Even if it didn't, the updates are pretty small so it would take less than 30sec to update.

Message 5 of 14 (14 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Survivor
Registered: 11/16/2006
Offline
2666 posts
 

Re: Do we have to update the vita?

Jan 19, 2012

remanutd5 wrote:

gasmask wrote:

I would imagine it would come pre installed.

I am in Japan and had zero problems with my launch Vita.

Many of my friends also have launch Vita with zero problems.

how is the reception of the vita in japan gasmask ? whats the perception of the system over there?

It's a lot better than what I keep reading in foriegn media.

Certainly no where near 3DS scale at launch, but I am seeing a lot of "Pre-owned" 3DS on shelves now, as the 3D fad has worn off.

I shop in a well know game/dvd/CD shop here very regular, and there is always at least AS MUCH interest buzzing around the Vita shelves as there is around the 3DS shelves.

The 3G (at least for me) here is flawless, connects very well, as does GPS.

Message 6 of 14 (14 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 04/21/2007
Offline
7400 posts
 

Re: Do we have to update the vita?

Jan 19, 2012

gasmask wrote:

remanutd5 wrote:

gasmask wrote:

I would imagine it would come pre installed.

I am in Japan and had zero problems with my launch Vita.

Many of my friends also have launch Vita with zero problems.

how is the reception of the vita in japan gasmask ? whats the perception of the system over there?

It's a lot better than what I keep reading in foriegn media.

Certainly no where near 3DS scale at launch, but I am seeing a lot of "Pre-owned" 3DS on shelves now, as the 3D fad has worn off.

I shop in a well know game/dvd/CD shop here very regular, and there is always at least AS MUCH interest buzzing around the Vita shelves as there is around the 3DS shelves.

The 3G (at least for me) here is flawless, connects very well, as does GPS.

what are the advantages of 3G in your opinion ?

Message 7 of 14 (14 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Last Guardian
Registered: 02/02/2005
Online
11836 posts
 

Re: Do we have to update the vita?

Jan 19, 2012

pohanlin wrote:

No.  you don't need to update, but if you use any PSN features, it will force you to update or you can't get into PSN messenging, PSN Store, and other PSN stuff.  You can still play PSVita games if you don't update.  If they check the internet (you have it on) before playing, they may tell you to upgrade, but you can't always turn off the networking features to bypass the check.

PSVita secrets:

http://www.edepot.com/playstation.html

im pretty sure he meant will the vitas come with the latest firmware installed... im sure he knows that updating will be required to keep the ability to connect to psn

>

Message 8 of 14 (14 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Sackboy
Registered: 11/22/2008
Offline
561 posts
 

Re: Do we have to update the vita?

Jan 19, 2012

Well I would assume that we may need to update, as they keep tweeking things after the Japan launch. They should be minor and small, but yeah we will all be upgrading at first. With the release starting on the 15th I can imagine the servers are gonna be a little laggy with the preorders all upgrading together.

Alacrity

AlacrityFitz Trophy Card
Message 9 of 14 (14 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Sackboy
Registered: 10/24/2006
Online
552 posts
 

Re: Do we have to update the vita?

Jan 20, 2012

YES

The only gamer that's never played a game.
Message 10 of 14 (14 Views)
Reply
0 Likes