01-15-2013 06:29 AM
01-15-2013 07:57 AM
01-15-2013 08:15 AM
01-15-2013 10:23 AM
I have never attempted a restore file system and rebuild DB. What exactly does it do to your saved data - games, media file, game saves, patches, etc?
I could search for a FAQ, but if you have experience doing it, I would like to see your response.
01-15-2013 10:55 AM
01-15-2013 10:56 AM
01-15-2013 11:01 AM
01-15-2013 04:40 PM
Restore File System rewrites corrupt files used for booting. Rebuild Database rewrites corrupt files in the database. They are maintenance options, they help boost your PS3's performance. You should be doing this on a set basis, whatever is to your liking, I do it before every large download, or once a month. When using these you'll erase messages, playlists, edited song information, and folders. Nothing serious like saves, or game data. I'd suggest syncing trophies before trying it just to be safe.
Where do I find this option? I only found "Restore PS3 System" is this it? Because it says here "When you perform this operation, all data in the system storage will be deleted. Also, the system software will be restored to its default settings. Be careful not to accidentally delete important data as the changes cannot be undone. Data loss or corruption is the responsibility of the user." Which I understand as deleting everything in the system, including saves, games, etc