Reply
First Son
Registered: 10/31/2009
Offline
3 posts
 

Re: DNAS Error

Dec 5, 2009

Still having the same problem.  Did a little poking around and found that my PS3 is trying to hit a different server for authentication:

 

PS3: 198.107.158.195    HTTPS        service.playstation.net

PSP: 202.213.243.227    HTTPS        (Cannot resove name)

 

I can reach the 'PS3' server just fine, but I cannot connect to the 'PSP' server. There's the problem. I also cannot reverse lookup the name through DNS, which is odd, but JPNIC the data:

 

inetnum:    202.213.243.128 - 202.213.243.255
netname:   SCEINET
descr:        Sony Computer Entertainment Inc.
country:     JP
admin-c:    HT6981JP
tech-c:       HT6981JP
source:      JPNIC

 

This isn't a DNS issue as I'm working with an IP address. Either the server is down or there's a routing problem. When I try to traceroute the IP I get out of Comcast just fine (so this isn't a Comcast issue), but get stuck at:

 

traceroute 202.213.244.101

...................
vlan1706.icore1.pdi-paloalto.as6453.net (209.58.17.21)  128.773 ms  135.321 ms  145.704 ms
* * *

 

Routing problem between Palo Alto and Tokyo?

Message 41 of 74 (46 Views)
Sackboy
Registered: 06/10/2003
Offline
472 posts
 

Re: DNAS Error

Dec 5, 2009

You are correct is not a DNS issue,its a DNAS issue.

 

The issue is effecting timewarner and comcast users in the northeast and the debate still continues with who is at fault. isp may have blocked a range of ports effecting the service, or sony needs to fix a server.

Beta Tested: Socom2, FFXI

FFXI Profile:
MNK 75, WAR 75, WHM 51, PLD 49, NIN 37, THF 37, DNC 29, RNG 25, BLM 75, SAM59
3Cities: Rank 10
Current missions: Rise of Zilart: Ark Angels
Chains of Promathia: Dawn
Treasures of Aht Urhgan: Sweets for the Soul
Wings of the Goddess: Cait Sith
Campaign Rank: Moonlight Medal
Message 42 of 74 (46 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Lombax Warrior
Registered: 04/12/2008
Offline
268 posts
 

Re: DNAS Error

Dec 5, 2009
I have been getting the same error since Thurs night.  I have Comcast as well as some as you.  Someone knows something they are not telling us.
tomboystud Trophy Card
Message 43 of 74 (46 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
I Only Post Everything
Registered: 06/14/2009
Offline
1098 posts
 

Re: DNAS Error

Dec 5, 2009

I just got my second PSP Go try downloading some games and it doesnt connect.

Times out and gets error.

Damn Time Warner.

Uncharted 2 Stats Card by JAKPRO.net - PPFabian
Message 44 of 74 (46 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 12/05/2009
Offline
7 posts
 

Re: DNAS Error

Dec 5, 2009
ok  i  can only play my multiplayer  game at work now on dsl . so we are screwed so hard on comcast . at work everything works fine then i come home and bum out . nothing works no ps network no store no multi player online game . im eather gonna cancel comcast or put my psp up for sale . or maybe i'll just smash it. im tempted to send as much juice as i can up the comcast  cable wire and fry it out at the pole .i got a 220volt . generator ill just hook it up tern it on and stand back and laugh.
Message 45 of 74 (46 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Hekseville Citizen
Registered: 01/04/2008
Offline
283 posts
 

Re: DNAS Error

Dec 5, 2009

matrixadw wrote:

I'm still having the problem and I'm a Time Warner Road Runner Cable user. I'm not sure this has anything to do with Comcast.

 

Message Edited by matrixadw on 12-04-2009 10:39 PM

I'm having the same DNAS error as you are having and my ISP is not Comcast.  It's Earthlink through Time Warner Cable.  I'm going to notify other gaming websites about this problem & see if they can get an answer from Sony.
Message 46 of 74 (46 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 07/01/2009
Offline
11 posts
 

Re: DNAS Error

Dec 5, 2009
Add me to the pile of affected users.  PSP-2001, FW 6.20 since a few days after it came out, Comcast ISP in New Jersey, "A DNAS error has occurred.  The operation timed out."  Started happening at least 2 nights ago, with no impact on other PSP wifi-related functions and no problems on PS3.  Called customer support this morning, who told me to contact Comcast.  Found this discussion thread.
Message 47 of 74 (46 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 12/05/2009
Offline
1 posts
 

Re: DNAS Error

Dec 5, 2009

Yeah, I'm having the same problem, too. I signed in some time on 12/3, downloaded the comic thing. Downloaded the new music program, too.

 

Then, I tried PSN store yesterday and it didn't work. Still hasn't worked today.

 

Internet works, and  I'm able to look at the information board thing (underneath PSP store icon). Can't get any further than that.

 

I have Time Warner, btw. 

Message 48 of 74 (46 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 12/04/2009
Offline
9 posts
 

Re: DNAS Error

Dec 5, 2009
Ugh. I ended up calling comcast, today, to see what was up and all the rep could tell me was "I don't see this issue on the message boards or by the engineers." So my question is, does anyone have the ability to contact the company (sister companies as well) about the issue to let them know we're having this sort of problem. According to the rep, as of now they are clueless. *sigh*
Message 49 of 74 (46 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Splicer
Registered: 10/10/2003
Offline
67 posts
 

Re: DNAS Error

Dec 5, 2009

Nickman420 wrote:
ok  i  can only play my multiplayer  game at work now on dsl . so we are screwed so hard on comcast . at work everything works fine then i come home and bum out . nothing works no ps network no store no multi player online game . im eather gonna cancel comcast or put my psp up for sale . or maybe i'll just smash it. im tempted to send as much juice as i can up the comcast  cable wire and fry it out at the pole .i got a 220volt . generator ill just hook it up tern it on and stand back and laugh.

 

Did you bother to read any of these posts?  It's obvious it has nothing to do with Comcast, especially when you take the traceroute into account, and the fact that we have several people using Time Warner, and I myself tried connecting on both Verizon DSL and Verizon Fios, and had the same issue.  It does seem like most of us are in the Northeast.  Quick check, is anyone having this problem outside of the Northeastern US?

 

I know the traceroute seems to show the problem on a server in Palo Alto, CA, though.

Message 50 of 74 (46 Views)
Reply
0 Likes