Here is my story: Promise of A Paopu Fruit

Please use plain text.
Message 52 of 75 (211 Views)
0 Likes
First Son
12 posts

Re: Community Spotlight 12/15 - 1/5 -- PlayStation Stories

Dec 16, 2012

I have a very special relationship with the Playstation family.  It's the only series of consoles I've ever owned, and has defined my life as a gamer and eventually became a passion of mine as I'm studying to be a game designer right now at SCAD.

The game that got me into gaming was Twisted Metal 2.  I had never played anything like it.  The destruction, the different vehicles, the madness, the level design, the weapons, the music, everything was perfect in that game.  Even the incredibly cheesy cutscenes were just so much fun.  I still play this game to this day.  It spoke to me on many levels.  But it was that beautiful game play that really did the trick and just because there were so many ways to go about winning each level, it makes this game infinitely replayable.  And that split screen death match and co op kept my friends and I coming back for more and more.  While there were many other great games I played on the PS1, TM2 defined it for me.

I got a PS2 solely for the existence of Twisted Metal: Black.  At last, David Jaffe and co. were returning to the series they started.  And it was here that I first became emotionally invested in characters in a game for the first time.  Jaffe's characterizations were dark, brooding, vengeful, flawed and yet they all had defining trait that drew you to them.  Whether it was Sweet Tooth's dark rage, Raven's quest to get revenge for the death of her best friend, Mr. Grimm's descent into cannibalism, Dollface's destroyed innocence, Agent Stone's search for redemption, or The Preacher's tragic tale, I couldn't get enough of these stories.