Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Jan 15 2011
By: dpking44 First Son 3 posts

Audio Output through bluetooth headset

12 replies 84520 views Edited Jan 15, 2011

Hi, newbie here.  Just want to confirm that game play (sound) cannot be output through a bluetooth headset with the PS3?  I've tried everything in the book on settings, etc.  My Motorola S9 headset pairs fine and it seems to configure fine in "audio settings."  However, I can't hear anything from the game through the headset.  When playing online, what does everyone do regarding wireless headsets w/microphones for game play? 

Thanks

Please use plain text.
Message 1 of 13 (84,520 Views)
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
5189 posts

Re: Audio Output through bluetooth headset

Jan 15, 2011

dpking44 wrote:

Hi, newbie here.  Just want to confirm that game play (sound) cannot be output through a bluetooth headset with the PS3?  I've tried everything in the book on settings, etc.  My Motorola S9 headset pairs fine and it seems to configure fine in "audio settings."  However, I can't hear anything from the game through the headset.  When playing online, what does everyone do regarding wireless headsets w/microphones for game play? 

Thanks

You might find someone who knows the answer somewhere in the PS3 forums.

Please use plain text.
Message 2 of 13 (84,520 Views)
0 Likes
Big Daddy
19370 posts

Jan 15, 2011

dpking44 wrote:

Thanks

The PS3 does not send game audio through headsets (USB or Bluetooth).  Only voice chatter is sent through USB or Bluetooth.

For playing online everyone uses a USB/Bluetooth headset for chatter, and their TV/sound system speakers for game play sounds.

Or, they get a headset that has a connection to the composite sound cables, or digital optical, as well as USB.  They can get pricey, though.  But they are out there.