Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Nov 15 2012
By: gamer1rst First Son 4 posts

A Helping Hand

0 replies 97 views Edited Nov 15, 2012

I've been gaming since it started in the early seventies, (On the first machines like Space Invaders) and have enjoyed the hobby for years at home with all the iterations of the Playstation. I've tried to get people into gaming since I started, but my health started to fail about 12 years ago. I'm in a wheelchair now due to nerve damage in my back, but still try to help others as much as possible where I can.

I've been playing the Rockband games since 2009 when I found they, as well as other games, could help take my mind off of my pain to a degree. There was a goal in the 2nd game that involved playing the entire setlist from start to finish in one go. It was called the Endless Setlist 2 and takes around 6-7 hours of straight play to get through. I had completed it, (and got my Platinum) but found quite a few others that hadn't managed to get through the whole thing due to the difficulty of playing the last few songs on some instruments. So I started volunteering my time to help others complete the goal. I had helped quite a few people get through it already, (14 or 15 of them) when in Oct of 2010, a guy from Australia contacted me needing help. He played drums, and had already tried the setlist three or four times, and never could get through the whole thing. He'd get to the last few songs after playing for six hours straight, and then would fail a couple songs and have to quit. We fired up the PS3s and I asked him to play a few of the songs he had trouble with so I could see if I'd be able to help him. After playing a couple of the songs that gave him the most trouble I thought I could help, and we set up a time to play later that week. Then I started hearing that "I'd never keep a connection that long" from other people. I'd never had issues with disconnects while playing the PS3, and had no idea what they we