Reply
Highlighted
Jan 29 2007
By: nlong~ Splicer 36 posts
Offline

80710102 / 80028EA5 NETWORK ERROR EASY INSTRUCTIONS

222 replies 3160 views Edited Jan 29, 2007
SETTINGS > NETWORK SETTINGS > INERNET CONNECTION SETTINGS > WIRED CONNECTION OR WIRELESS >
 
WIRED CONNECTION > CUSTOM > MANUAL SETTINGS > AUTO DETECT > AUTOMATIC > DO NOT SET > MANUAL ( DNS1 : 208.67.222.222 , DNS2 : 208.67.220.220 ) > AUTO > DO NOT USE > ENABLE > X > X
 
WIRELESS > ENTER MANUALLY > ( ENTER SSID OR CONTINUE ) > ( CHOOSE SECURITY OR CONTINUE ) > CUSTOM > AUTO > DO NOT SET > MANUAL ( DNS1 : 208.67.222.222 , DNS2 : 208.67.220.220 ) > AUTO > DO NOT USE > ENABLE > X > X
 
 
I thought I should clarify my experience one last time in hopes that it may help someone.  I was able to connect fine for a month before the 1.50 update and then things got really wierd.  I have gone through entire days unable to connect to the network and entire days able to connect.  Meanwhile I had full use of the PS3 internet browser and no other computer or internet issues.  I can currently confirm that if I return my PS3 internet settings the original "automatic" settings I will not be able to connect, with these DNS settings in the PS3 I have no problems.
 
I have cable internet access through Adelphia with a Linksys WRT54GS router communicating wirelessly with my PS3... GOOD LUCK!


The information I used to create this fix contained a link that has provided us with router specific DNS information to be used if the numbers provided do not work.   http://www.opendns.com/start/at_home.php

Now, a day later, I am able to connect with the original automatic settings for everything including DNS.  I must also point out that the network performance is much faster using the automatic settings and recommend using alternate DNS settings only when neccessary.


Message Edited by nlong on 01-27-2007 09:59 PM

Message Edited by nlong on 01-28-2007 10:47 PM



Message Edited by nlong on 01-28-2007 10:53 PM

Message Edited by nlong on 01-29-2007 12:25 PM
Message 7 of 223 (3,160 Views)
Sackboy
Registered: 01/28/2007
Offline
653 posts
 

Re: 80710102 / 80028EA5 NETWORK ERROR

Jan 28, 2007
I used the exact numbers except i changed them through my router and not through the ps3 settings.... Hopefully they are both the same
Message 1 of 223 (3,160 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Monster Hunter
Registered: 12/29/2006
Offline
33 posts
 

Re: 80710102 / 80028EA5 NETWORK ERROR

Jan 28, 2007
Confirmed working. You can also use PDNS 4.2.2.2 and SDNS 4.2.2.3


Message 2 of 223 (3,160 Views)
Wastelander
Registered: 12/09/2005
Offline
863 posts
 

Re: 80710102 / 80028EA5 NETWORK ERROR

Jan 28, 2007
i tryed everytime and failed
Message 3 of 223 (3,160 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Splicer
Registered: 01/24/2007
Offline
36 posts
 

Re: 80710102 / 80028EA5 NETWORK ERROR EASY INSTRUCTIONS

Jan 29, 2007
Are people still having trouble? This fix has had me connected with no problems for many hours now...
Message 4 of 223 (3,160 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 01/01/2007
Offline
2 posts
 

Re: 80710102 / 80028EA5 NETWORK ERROR EASY INSTRUCTIONS

Jan 29, 2007
I used these DNS #s in my router and my ps3. The problem that I have been having is I can play ps3 games online but not my ps2 games. I also have a problem with using a head set with these DSN #s.
Message 5 of 223 (3,160 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Lombax Warrior
Registered: 11/22/2006
Offline
128 posts
 

Re: 80710102 / 80028EA5 NETWORK ERROR EASY INSTRUCTIONS

Jan 29, 2007
For me it times out just trying to obtain an IP address from the router.  

60GB Ps3
Online ID-Amon37
BD Games: Resistance, Genji, RR7, F1:CE, Enchanted Arms,
NGSmiley Frustratedigma, Heavenly Sword, R&C, Uncharted,DMC 4:CE
PSN Games: GO! Sudoku, Q-bert, Mortal Kombat II, Go! Puzzle(Swizzle Blocks),
Super Stardust HD, Super Puzzle Fighter II
Classics: Castlevania Symphony of the Night
Message 6 of 223 (3,160 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Splicer
Registered: 01/24/2007
Offline
36 posts
 

Re: 80710102 / 80028EA5 NETWORK ERROR EASY INSTRUCTIONS

Jan 29, 2007
amon is having router problems, I believe and should restart all (I'm sure he's tried this already)
jonboy should try connecting again, my original settings are working with perfect performance
Message 8 of 223 (3,160 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 01/28/2007
Offline
2 posts
 

Re: 80710102 / 80028EA5 NETWORK ERROR EASY INSTRUCTIONS

Jan 29, 2007
I am stil having problems with PSN I have used this solution and it did not work I have used different solutions didnt work! I still do not have a PSN connection I cannot live without Resistance and I do not now how long I will last!
Message 9 of 223 (3,160 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Fek
First Son
Registered: 01/16/2007
Offline
8 posts
 

Re: 80710102 / 80028EA5 NETWORK ERROR EASY INSTRUCTIONS

Jan 30, 2007
This solution worked instantly for me. All I can say for those still having problems is reboot EVERYTHING. Your router, modem, PS3 and any other device that may be connected to your network.
Message 10 of 223 (3,160 Views)
Reply
0 Likes