Reply
MVP Support
Registered: 08/28/2008
Online
9670 posts
 

Re: 3tb as internal harddrive?

Feb 3, 2013

GraphiteGB wrote:

2TB 2.5inch 9.5 mm HDD drives have worked... but there are models that wont...


There are no 2TB 9.5mm drives.  The largest capacity drives that will fit in the PS3 are 1TB.  1.5TB drives start at 12.5mm and 2TB drives start at 15mm, both are much too large to fit in the PS3 (or basically any notebook/laptop).

Message 11 of 20 (1,216 Views)
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 08/05/2006
Online
4696 posts
 

Re: 3tb as internal harddrive?

Feb 3, 2013

BBurgSteve wrote:

GraphiteGB wrote:

2TB 2.5inch 9.5 mm HDD drives have worked... but there are models that wont...


There are no 2TB 9.5mm drives.  The largest capacity drives that will fit in the PS3 are 1TB.  1.5TB drives start at 12.5mm and 2TB drives start at 15mm, both are much too large to fit in the PS3 (or basically any notebook/laptop).


Wrong both WD and samsung make 2.5 9.5 mm 2TB drives but ive not used them so won't recommend them.

 

PDP Remotesnapshot6.png

Message 12 of 20 (1,202 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Fender Bender
Registered: 01/27/2012
Offline
3055 posts
 

Re: 3tb as internal harddrive?

Feb 3, 2013

yeah im not really sure if they make it that small yet but maybe but myself would be fine with the larger and make me a modded external enclosure to look like a original ps3 accessory and use a sata/power extension cable and use up to 4 hdd's with a hdd switch..then just select which hdd you want on power up..

gta5 photo: GTAV banner gta5_banner.jpg
Message 13 of 20 (1,200 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 08/05/2006
Online
4696 posts
 

Re: 3tb as internal harddrive?

Feb 3, 2013

kythunder wrote:

yeah im not really sure if they make it that small yet but maybe but myself would be fine with the larger and make me a modded external enclosure to look like a original ps3 accessory and use a sata/power extension cable and use up to 4 hdd's with a hdd switch..then just select which hdd you want on power up..


Getting up would get annoying, May be build in a IR controll unit to Switch over for you.  

PDP Remotesnapshot6.png

Message 14 of 20 (1,194 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Fender Bender
Registered: 01/27/2012
Offline
3055 posts
 

Re: 3tb as internal harddrive?

Feb 3, 2013

dont give me any ideas like that because then i might take up on it and implement it into a DS3 controller....

gta5 photo: GTAV banner gta5_banner.jpg
Message 15 of 20 (1,187 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
MVP Support
Registered: 08/28/2008
Online
9670 posts
 

Re: 3tb as internal harddrive?

[ Edited ]
Feb 3, 2013

You mean, like this one here?

 

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822236348

 

That is the only 2TB "Notebook" HDD that WD makes...

 

  • Cache: 8MB
  • Height (maximum): 15mm
  • Width (maximum): 69.85mm
  • Length (maximum): 100.2mm
  • Model #: WD20NPVT
  • Item #: N82E16822236348
  • Return Policy: Standard Return Policy 

Looking at the products at wd.com, I see no 9.5mm 2TB drives.  I see 80GB-1TB at 7-9.5mm; 1.5TB-2TB at 15mm and 160-750GB "Black" series at 9.5mm.

 

The largest Notebook HDD that Samsung makes (made?  Apparently, they no longer make conventional HDDs, as there are only SSDs listed on their website's product pages) is 1TB.

 

Message 16 of 20 (1,185 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
PlayStation MVP
Registered: 04/29/2010
Offline
3660 posts
 

Re: 3tb as internal harddrive?

Feb 4, 2013

HmoobIsMe wrote:

Hi!Smiley Very Happy
I recently upgraded my 120gb harddrive to a 250gb.. To my opinion i dont 250gb is enough (after restoring my old harddrive i had about..... 110gb left)
I recently found a great deal on a 3tb harddrive. I was wondering if i could install a 3tb in to my PS3. I saw people install a 1tb what about a 3tb?Smiley Surprised
Thanks..!Smiley Happy
 


There's no point in having a 3TB hard drive on a PS3 (unless you think it makes your phallus larger). As others have said, it won't even fit into the PS3 anyway.


PlayStation MVP | PS Plus member | BETA Tester | YouTube Partner www.twitter.com/semajmarc87 | www.youtube.com/semajmarc87
1,500+ followers | 150+ subscribers
Message 17 of 20 (1,179 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Fender Bender
Registered: 01/27/2012
Offline
3055 posts
 

Re: 3tb as internal harddrive?

Feb 4, 2013

if you have ps+ you will fill it up quicker than you think...

gta5 photo: GTAV banner gta5_banner.jpg
Message 18 of 20 (1,176 Views)
Wastelander
Registered: 12/10/2008
Offline
834 posts
 

Re: 3tb as internal harddrive?

[ Edited ]
Feb 4, 2013

PS3 HDD Dock Setup

 

People need to stop saying the PS3 only supports one size when the HDD dock in the PS3 only supports one size. Doesn't mean there aren't ways around it. The author of the posting was running 2TB drives. Smiley Wink

 

PS3 HDD Dock

Message 19 of 20 (1,165 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Highlighted
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 05/15/2007
Offline
6532 posts
 

Re: 3tb as internal harddrive?

[ Edited ]
Feb 4, 2013

TheUndertaker85 wrote:

PS3 HDD Dock Setup

 

People need to stop saying the PS3 only supports one size when the HDD dock in the PS3 only supports one size. Doesn't mean there aren't ways around it. The author of the posting was running 2TB drives. Smiley Wink

 

PS3 HDD Dock


Not using 2TB for internal storage.

 

It's important to READ and UNDERSTAND; "2 2TB EXT. HDD's (FAT32)" - 2TB EXTERNAL DRIVES... thats for USB connected External drives and formated as FAT32.  The highest size internal drives he's running, yes with the break out box, is 750GB, his exact words... "2 750GB Seagate 2.5" SATA HDD"


     Launch PS4 || Launch 60GB YLOD || PS3 Slim 1TB || Gaming since October 1977 (Atari VCS launch)
Message 20 of 20 (1,160 Views)
Reply
0 Likes