Jan 27 2013
By: LikeRA1N Wastelander 632 posts

In any fighting game, there will ALWAYS be somebody better than the next person!

30 replies 356 views Edited Jan 27, 2013

Always!

You guys ever heard of the "Rock, Paper, Scissors" rule? Shall I explain how this work?

I'll use Brawl as an example because I'm assuming most of us are familiar with the series and my friends and I have been playing the game for over 4 years now.

In the Smash series, I've been maining Mario since Smash Bros. 64. With Mario, I can beat just about any opponent. Now there's a friend, let's call him Friend A, who can beat me with R.O.B. I usually can never win. But I have a Friend B who mains Toon Link and he literally makes Friend A's R.O.B. look like trash. But I always beat his Toon Link.

See what I'm getting at?

My Mario > Friend B's Toon Link > Friend A's R.O.B. > My Mario. The "Rock, Paper, Scissors" rule in full effect!

The same goes with fighting game players around the world in any series. Be it Street Fighter, Soul Calibur or PSASBR.

There will ALWAYS be someone better.

Thanks for reading! Smiley Happy

Photobucket
Message 1 of 31 (356 Views)
Welcoming Committee
14647 posts

Re: In any fighting game, there will ALWAYS be somebody better than the next person!

[ Edited ]
Jan 27, 2013

I brought this up in the other thread. It is partially true. In soccer, you can be the best goalie, but you may not be the best soccer player simply because you suck at being a forward. In All-Stars, you can be the best PaRappa, but you may not be the best player because there may be an amazing Kratos that dominates you and, therefore, is better than you.