Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Dec 02 2006
By: Kalibaba~ First Son 18 posts
Offline

VDIGI COMPONENT TO VGA TRANSCODER WORKS

24 replies 17 views Edited Dec 2, 2006
This is for all those that do not have a HDCP monitor and want to use their PS3 on it. I got my Vdigi transcoder today. It took a few minutes to setup but it works great. I am now running games a 720p.  Way better than using my sdtv. This is the best $60 ive ever spent. Better than going out and buying a new HDTV or HDCP monitor.
Message 1 of 25 (17 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Sackboy
Registered: 04/04/2005
Offline
484 posts
 

Re: VDIGI COMPONENT TO VGA TRANSCODER WORKS

Dec 2, 2006
Care to link?  Sometimes I'd rather play the PS3 in the bedroom than the family room.
PS Network Identity: Wiederkehr
Message 2 of 25 (17 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Splicer
Registered: 11/20/2006
Offline
58 posts
 

Re: VDIGI COMPONENT TO VGA TRANSCODER WORKS

Dec 2, 2006
How do you setup your monitor to run at that resolution and will a Samsugn 930B work, do they have a DVI model my available resolution's don't show the 720P one.
Message 3 of 25 (17 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 11/26/2006
Offline
18 posts
 

Re: VDIGI COMPONENT TO VGA TRANSCODER WORKS

Dec 2, 2006
Here is link to the Vdigi site

All specs should be on there. If not let me know and i will put up a copy of  the manual for you to check out.

Message 4 of 25 (17 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 11/26/2006
Offline
18 posts
 

Re: VDIGI COMPONENT TO VGA TRANSCODER WORKS

Dec 2, 2006
Does you monitor have VGA??  If so it will work. Vdigi does not make a dvi model.
Message 5 of 25 (17 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Monster Hunter
Registered: 11/22/2006
Offline
43 posts
 

Re: VDIGI COMPONENT TO VGA TRANSCODER WORKS

Dec 2, 2006
Are you saying that this thing allows your 480p/1080i hdtv to display 720p via the VGA connection on the TV?
Message 6 of 25 (17 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Splicer
Registered: 11/20/2006
Offline
58 posts
 

Re: VDIGI COMPONENT TO VGA TRANSCODER WORKS

Dec 2, 2006
So your saying with this device you also need a HDMI - Component Adapter, then you hook it up and output to the VGA.  Then normal computer monitors will be able to display HD resolutions.  My monitor doesn't show the resolution 1280x720, although the highest resolution it is capable of displaying is 1208x1024.  In windows at least 1280x720 doesn't show as one of my available resolutions does this unit fix this.

Furthermore does the 720P image look just as good as a HDTV.
Message 7 of 25 (17 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 11/26/2006
Offline
18 posts
 

Re: VDIGI COMPONENT TO VGA TRANSCODER WORKS

Dec 2, 2006
This is only for computer monitors
Message 8 of 25 (17 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 11/26/2006
Offline
18 posts
 

Re: VDIGI COMPONENT TO VGA TRANSCODER WORKS

Dec 2, 2006
No you do not need a hdmi to component cable for this. You need a component av cable for this to work. I m using the component cable made for the ps2 since it will also work with the ps3 it cost about $35. 1280x720 is 720p. If your monitors can do 1280x1024 then it should also do 1280x720. Mine looks a lot better on my 20in monitor than it did on my 30in sdtv.  On the ps3 display setting it says current res is 720p. 
Message 9 of 25 (17 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Lombax Warrior
Registered: 09/26/2003
Offline
237 posts
 

Re: VDIGI COMPONENT TO VGA TRANSCODER WORKS

Dec 2, 2006
you dont need to buy that box guys, to get the ps3 on your monitor you need 4 things (my total of the 4 things was around 25 bucks on ebay)

1 ps2 component cable
1 vga to component cable
1 RCA/RGB cable coupler (both ends female)  (so the vga cable and ps3 cable can act as one cable)
1 RCA/RGB to 3.5mm adapter (to get sound out of your pc speakers)
PROUD G.A.P MEMBER
Message 10 of 25 (17 Views)
Reply
0 Likes