Reply
Jul 03 2010
By: G_U_T_S Splicer 80 posts
Offline

How do I delete all info on my PS3?

8 replies 26772 views Edited Jul 3, 2010

I am selling my PS3, and I want to make sure all my info. is gone. So do I just use the format tool, and if so, do I need to go Full or Quick? Should I also do a system restore? Any help would be great,thanks.

LCD > Plasma ..... Sorry,but that's life.

PSN I.D. G_U_T_S
Message 1 of 9 (26,772 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 06/27/2010
Offline
5406 posts
 

Re: How do I delete all info on my PS3?

Jul 3, 2010

First make sure you deactivate your account(s) for both games and videos under Account Management / System Activation.  That way if you decide to get a PS3 again down the road you won't lose any activations.

 

Then you can use the format utility.  You can do the full format if you are paranoid, but it will take several hours to complete.  I would just do the quick format.

Message 2 of 9 (26,772 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Hekseville Citizen
Registered: 01/08/2007
Offline
333 posts
 

Re: How do I delete all info on my PS3?

Jul 3, 2010

You also have to "restore default settings" or it will save your email address, possibly causing them to try to hack your password.

Message 3 of 9 (26,772 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 12/31/2007
Offline
6405 posts
 

Re: How do I delete all info on my PS3?

Jul 3, 2010

Do the full format since you don't want any information to get into the wrong hands.  Not knowing the person you will sell it to that is the best way,


Message 4 of 9 (26,772 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 03/15/2010
Offline
24 posts
 

Re: How do I delete all info on my PS3?

Jul 3, 2010

You should do a system restore since you are selling it.  System restore will format the hard-drive but also reset the playstations settings back to default. All of your infomation such as psn id, dl conect,settings will be deleted. If you have any saves or content you wish to save then do so before you perform the system restore. Once you do a restore its gone forever. 

 

Edit: also, i'm refering to the "restore PS3 system" option. That will pretty much do both the reformat and restore with one option. 

Message 5 of 9 (26,772 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Splicer
Registered: 01/21/2008
Offline
80 posts
 

Re: How do I delete all info on my PS3?

Jul 3, 2010
How do I do this exactly?
LCD > Plasma ..... Sorry,but that's life.

PSN I.D. G_U_T_S
Message 6 of 9 (26,772 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Splicer
Registered: 01/21/2008
Offline
80 posts
 

Re: How do I delete all info on my PS3?

Jul 3, 2010

So deactivate my account for games and videos? Then just do I system restore, and this will delete eveything as well, or should I still format?

LCD > Plasma ..... Sorry,but that's life.

PSN I.D. G_U_T_S
Message 7 of 9 (26,772 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 03/15/2010
Offline
24 posts
 

Re: How do I delete all info on my PS3?

Jul 3, 2010

Yes, deactivate your account for game/video acess so you can still use your account in the future if you rebuy a ps3.  The Restore PS3 System option under Settings will do the hard drive reformat along with the system restore. You could do them both seperately if you want though. They both achieve the same thing in the end so its your choice. Just note if you do the format option and pick full that it will take a long time to reformat.  

Message 8 of 9 (26,772 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Splicer
Registered: 01/21/2008
Offline
80 posts
 

Re: How do I delete all info on my PS3?

Jul 3, 2010

Thanks for all the help people, I appreciate it.

LCD > Plasma ..... Sorry,but that's life.

PSN I.D. G_U_T_S
Message 9 of 9 (26,772 Views)
Reply
0 Likes