Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Dec 09 2008
By: FiveSeveN- Treasure Hunter 7605 posts
Offline
Accepted Solution

HDMI port is not working (have already reset PS3 settings)

19 replies 21069 views Edited Dec 9, 2008
I've tried 2 different HDMI cables going into 2 different HDMI ports on the TV. It's not the TV, and it's not the HDMI cables.

It's either the HDMI port itself on the PS3 or something internally that is causing the video to not be output correctly.
The A/V port does work and I can see the PS3 being displayed via it (non-HD).

(I've already tried resetting the PS3 settings by holding the power button from standby for 10 seconds, multiple times)

I am not happy.. I just bought this PS3 three and a half months ago.

I would absolutely love it if somebody could help me out here.

Thanks.
Message Edited by FiveSeveN- on 12-09-2008 05:39 PM
Please use plain text.
Message 1 of 20 (21,069 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Lombax Warrior
Registered: 03/31/2008
Offline
208 posts
 

Re: HDMI port is not working (have already reset PS3 settings)

Dec 9, 2008

-have the AV and HDMI connected, reset the display settings (holding "On" on the ps3 until second beep)

-go to your AV input on the TV, it should say HDMI detected, and ask you if you want to switch, say yes.

- switch to you HDMI input

-you ps3 should have switched to you HDMI and it should now be displaying on this input, if so say yes and continue the on screen directions.

 

OTHERWISE

-wait a little longer, sometimes it takes a while to switch (ps3 and TV are not syncronized yet)

- turn ps3 off, blow the HDMI cable and ports for any dust

-retry the process a few more times (may take a few trie to syncronize properly)

-try switching the ports on the TV

-try power cycling both the TV and PS3

 

see if any of that works

 

 

Please use plain text.
Message 2 of 20 (21,069 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 02/07/2004
Offline
7605 posts
 

Re: HDMI port is not working (have already reset PS3 settings)

Dec 9, 2008

blazin_arch wrote:

-have the AV and HDMI connected, reset the display settings (holding "On" on the ps3 until second beep)

-go to your AV input on the TV, it should say HDMI detected, and ask you if you want to switch, say yes.

- switch to you HDMI input

-you ps3 should have switched to you HDMI and it should now be displaying on this input, if so say yes and continue the on screen directions.

 

OTHERWISE

-wait a little longer, sometimes it takes a while to switch (ps3 and TV are not syncronized yet)

- turn ps3 off, blow the HDMI cable and ports for any dust

-retry the process a few more times (may take a few trie to syncronize properly)

-try switching the ports on the TV

-try power cycling both the TV and PS3

 

see if any of that works

 

 



I can tell the signal goes through HDMI, but it's just black. Goes from blue screen (no signal) to black when the PS3 is on.

I'll try blowing off the ends of the cables, etc. Not sure what you mean by power cycling (just turning everything completely off and back on?).
Please use plain text.
Message 3 of 20 (21,069 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Lombax Warrior
Registered: 03/31/2008
Offline
208 posts
 

Re: HDMI port is not working (have already reset PS3 settings)

Dec 10, 2008

Yea turning everything off then pulling the plugs and waiting 10 seconds then try it.

 

 What is your TV model. 

 

I used to have a similar problem with my TV downstairs, same thing as you: I would change output to HDMI and then change my TV input to HDMI

but the ps3 wouldn't sync with the TV.

It would take me many tries of resetting the ps3 display and restarting.(and waiting 60 seconds after you changed input might give it time to sync.)

 

 

Please use plain text.
Message 4 of 20 (21,069 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Splicer
Registered: 02/12/2007
Offline
73 posts
 

Re: HDMI port is not working (have already reset PS3 settings)

Dec 10, 2008
I had this same problem when I got my PS3. I ended up just unpluging the TV for about 10 mins and pluging it back in and it worked. have not has a problem since
Please use plain text.
Message 5 of 20 (21,069 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Lombax Warrior
Registered: 03/31/2008
Offline
208 posts
 

Re: HDMI port is not working (have already reset PS3 settings)

Dec 10, 2008

lol i said 10 seconds, but yea try that too.

 

also when the sceen is black, try pulling the HDMI out of the back, wait a few seconds and plug it back into the PS3, this might also work.

Please use plain text.
Message 6 of 20 (21,069 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Sackboy
Registered: 04/07/2008
Offline
584 posts
 

Re: HDMI port is not working (have already reset PS3 settings)

Dec 10, 2008
I had the same problem. I tried all the remedies. I ended up having to send it in. It was only 5 business days turn-around though
Please use plain text.
Message 7 of 20 (21,069 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 02/07/2004
Offline
7605 posts
 

Re: HDMI port is not working (have already reset PS3 settings)

Dec 10, 2008
I cannot believe this.

I turned off the TV (like the first replier suggested) and turned it back on and it works. It appears as though I may have to do this everytime I used the PS3, though.

BTW, it is a 26 inch Vizio LCD HDTV.
Message Edited by FiveSeveN- on 12-09-2008 06:28 PM
Please use plain text.
Message 8 of 20 (21,069 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Lombax Warrior
Registered: 03/31/2008
Offline
208 posts
 

Re: HDMI port is not working (have already reset PS3 settings)

Dec 10, 2008

you shouldn't have to do that.

I think now you should disconnect the AV output from the ps3, and only leave the HDMI in the back.

So the next time you start your ps3, you should start the TV in the HDMI input and it should work perfectly. 

Please use plain text.
Message 9 of 20 (21,069 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 02/07/2004
Offline
7605 posts
 

Re: HDMI port is not working (have already reset PS3 settings)

Dec 10, 2008
I'll try that.. don't think it will solve it, but I'll try. You might be right :smileytongue:
Please use plain text.
Message 10 of 20 (21,069 Views)
Reply
0 Likes