I Only Post Everything
Registered: 03/17/2007
Offline
1342 posts
 

Re: PS3 can't obtain my IP address!!

Mar 17, 2008
Reset both router and modem. Unplug and replug the ethernet cable to ps3, wait 5 minutes, then check again. It happens to me if utorrent is seeding or media server is on, and that is all I have to do to get internet back to my ps3.
Photobucket
Message 21 of 57 (2,000 Views)
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 05/11/2008
Offline
1 posts
 

Re: PS3 can't obtain my IP address!!

May 11, 2008
mine worked till about 2 o'clock.. then it lost connection to my wireless and wont connect and it says it has 85% signal.... and im on my laptop so i know the wireless router is working
Message 22 of 57 (2,000 Views)
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 04/05/2009
Offline
1 posts
 

Re: PS3 can't obtain my IP address!!

Apr 5, 2009
Last night I redone the internet setup on my ps3 and put all the right things in then went 2 test connention and came up with ip address failed so 2day i tryed the internet setup on my ps3 again. And few minutes ago I find that i didnt put my DHCP user name in then i updated the ps3 system with the 2.70 update and then it was fine but now it said PSN failed.I think the reason my ip address was failing was cos it needed updating with the 2.70 update 
Message 23 of 57 (2,000 Views)
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 06/03/2009
Offline
1 posts
 

Re: PS3 can't obtain my IP address!!

Jun 3, 2009

I had the same problem and I unplugged all of the cords for the wireless router and it fixed the problem thank you for the help!

Message 24 of 57 (2,000 Views)
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 07/02/2009
Offline
1 posts
 

Re: PS3 can't obtain my IP address!!

Jul 3, 2009

i need help bad

every time i set up my network with everything on automatic, the ps3 cant obtain the IP address, but everytime i enter it in manually i get a dns error (80710102)

my online has been working since christmas when i got it and just about three days ago it stopped. its really pissin me off

Message 25 of 57 (2,000 Views)
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 02/19/2009
Offline
1 posts
 

Re: PS3 can't obtain my IP address!!

Jul 8, 2009

does any one kno y my PS3 says "OBTAINING IP ADDRESS TIMED OUT" or sum like that. i need help please

Message 26 of 57 (2,000 Views)
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 07/17/2009
Offline
3 posts
 

Re: PS3 can't obtain my IP address!!

Jul 17, 2009
i have version software 2.80 in my ps3 and after i did this update i took my ps3 to my friends house. when i got back to my house i tried to connect my ps3 to the internet wirelessly like i had it before, but now its says it fails to obtain IP address. i didnt move anything the to router or anything but i cant connect wireless. i also tried to do everything manual in the connection but still cant obtain IP. PLEASE HELP ME FIX THIS PROBLEM!
Message 27 of 57 (2,000 Views)
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 07/29/2009
Offline
2 posts
 

Re: PS3 can't obtain my IP address!!

Jul 29, 2009
I have the same problem, it worked until march, and now every time I don't use a wire I get a message about failing toobtain the IP
Message 28 of 57 (2,000 Views)
0 Likes
Lombax Warrior
Registered: 09/11/2003
Offline
225 posts
 

Re: PS3 can't obtain my IP address!!

Jul 29, 2009
try putting in the opendns.com numbers.. there are plenty of topics about it.. enter opendns in the search bar.. get the numbers then do the ps3 internet set-up when asked about dns choose to enter it manually... i had no problems execpt for slow D/L speeds on the ps3... then i started getting kicked off the psn network.. wrote the error code down came here, did a search and then tried opendns.. since then no getting kicked and the D/L speeds have improved greatly... granted some people say it doesn't work for them but it couldn't hurt to try...
Message 29 of 57 (2,000 Views)
First Son
Registered: 07/17/2009
Offline
3 posts
 

Re: PS3 can't obtain my IP address!!

Aug 4, 2009
yea trust me i've done everything to try to connect wirelessly but no use, i have restarted both rouder and modem, also tried different connections that dont even got security around my house and no use, and put all the information about my network manual but it still fails to obtain the IP. Im telling you it has to be the 2.80 update cuz it does scan and finds them but it ALWAYS FAILS TO OBTAIN IP. this sucks man
Message 30 of 57 (2,000 Views)
0 Likes