Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Dec 16 2011
By: KnattyNate First Son 6 posts
Offline
Accepted Solution

Hard Drive Replacement Questions

7 replies 583 views Edited Dec 16, 2011

I replaced the hdd in my ps3 with a Seagate Momentus 500gb 7200rpm and now sometimes when i start up my ps3 i get the 'cannot start: correct hard disk not found' message. It doesn't do it all the time but probably 75% of the time it does. I normally just keep restarting the ps3 until it recognizes the hdd but i'm getting tired of that. I have reformatted the disk and started from scratch, I have tried restoring the system file,  installing the update from a usb drive, and reseating the drive multiple times. I took the drive back to best buy and had geek squad test it out and they say nothing is wrong with the drive. Is the problem with the drive itself, possibly because it is a 7200rpm instead of the standard 5400rpm? Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Please use plain text.
Message 1 of 8 (583 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
PlayStation MVP
Registered: 12/16/2008
Offline
7785 posts
 

Re: Hard Drive Replacement Questions

Dec 16, 2011
Please use plain text.
Message 2 of 8 (583 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 02/16/2010
Offline
6 posts
 

Re: Hard Drive Replacement Questions

Dec 16, 2011

Yes, I have, and it still went to the 'cannot start: correct hard disk was not found' screen. I just got home from work and turned my ps3 on at it booted up normally, no problems, I have turned it off and turned it back on 3 times and each time it has booted up just fine, but on the 4th time it went to the 'cannot start: correct hard disk not found' screen. It doesn't make sense to me why it works sometimes and sometimes it doesn't.

Please use plain text.
Message 3 of 8 (583 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 02/16/2010
Offline
6 posts
 

Re: Hard Drive Replacement Questions

Dec 16, 2011

I have read online that the replacement must be 5400rpm, is this true? This may be my problem if it is but I don't know if this is true. Has anyone replaced theirs with a 7200rpm model without any issues?

Please use plain text.
Message 4 of 8 (583 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
PlayStation MVP
Registered: 12/16/2008
Offline
7785 posts
 

Re: Hard Drive Replacement Questions

Dec 17, 2011

No, the replacement does not have to be 5400 rpm. However, I recommend a 5400 rpm drive because the faster rotational speed of the 7200 rpm does not improve performance significantly on the PS3. 7200 rpm drives tend to cost more too.

I use a 250 GB Seagate Momentus XT 7200 rpm drive.

Maybe your PS3 doesn't like that particular model of hard drive. Exchange it for another brand or model.

Please use plain text.
Message 5 of 8 (583 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 02/16/2010
Offline
6 posts
 

Re: Hard Drive Replacement Questions

Dec 17, 2011

I bought a new Seagate Momentus (ST9500325AS) 500gb, 5400rpm drive last night on ebay for 89.99. (seller id: knattynate) I'm doing a full format on the other one as we speak. I listed it on ebay for 79.99 and free shipping, which is a deal since it is 109.99 at best buy. I put my original 60gb drive back in and haven't had any problems. I have the original fat model (CECHA01) so maybe it's the playstation, i don't know, but i have read several reviews on the drive from people who put it in a ps3 and none reported any problems. I guess that's just my bad luck. Thank's for your help.



Please use plain text.
Message 6 of 8 (583 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 01/08/2013
Offline
1 posts
 

Re: Hard Drive Replacement Questions

Jan 8, 2013

i installed a momentus 320gb and it will not read the memory stick with my backup file

Please use plain text.
Message 7 of 8 (303 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Fender Bender
Registered: 08/05/2006
Online
3535 posts
 

Re: Hard Drive Replacement Questions

[ Edited ]
Jan 8, 2013

Read the update instructions and pay close attention to how the Folder SPELLING and TEXT  is....

http://support.us.playstation.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/275

Yes UPPER CASE is Required... 

 

Please use plain text.
Message 8 of 8 (291 Views)
Reply
0 Likes