Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Nov 12 2012
By: Thin_Mint First Son 2 posts

Easiest way to upgrade your HDD (Hard Drive) on your PS3

2 replies 1152 views Edited Nov 12, 2012

Today I am going to write to you the last 24hrs of my time and experience gained from my event to successfully upgrade my hard drive (HDD) from my PS3.

WHAT YOU WILL NEED:

An External hard drive containing more space than the current drive in your PS3

A new HDD (specifically what kind will be discussed later)

A Phillips head screw driver

A computer

Your PS3 and its HDD

A lot of free time

Let's start with the new HDD that you will purchase. I have very little knowledge on quality of HDDs but I do know that ALL PS3s run off of a 2.5 inch SATA notebook drive with an 8Mb cache and 5400rpm. When I first went to my local electronics store, I bought the biggest and fastest drive they had. THIS IS A TERRIBLE IDEA! You will be wasting money as the PS3 reformats your 7200rpm drive right on down to 5400, rendering your speed demon as slow as the rest of them. If the formatting does work, your drive will often crash or freeze. I know that there are plenty of people out there who probably did buy the 7200rpm model and it works just fine. I happen to be very unlucky with mine and so I will recommend getting the exact format that the PS3 originally came with.