Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Oct 08 2011
By: FlamingXDragon Lombax Warrior 121 posts
Offline

Correct hard drive not found

6 replies 25 views Edited Oct 8, 2011

I recently bought a new PS3 because my old one YLOD on me. I started the new system with its original HDD and played a game Then.I took the the HDD from the older one and put it in the new one. When I turned it on it says correct Hard drive not found. Is my old HDD corrupt from the YLOD?



Please use plain text.
Message 1 of 7 (25 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Lombax Warrior
Registered: 09/07/2007
Offline
121 posts
 

Re: Correct hard drive not found

Oct 8, 2011

Ok I just updated it to the newest firmware. Would that have something to do with it?



Please use plain text.
Message 2 of 7 (25 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Lombax Warrior
Registered: 09/07/2007
Offline
121 posts
 

Re: Correct hard drive not found

Oct 8, 2011

Ok that did not work. Is it the hard drive?



Please use plain text.
Message 3 of 7 (25 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 02/14/2009
Offline
5377 posts
 

Re: Correct hard drive not found

Oct 8, 2011

The PlayStation 3 HDD is encrypted to the system that created its file system. To use your HDD with another system, you will need to format the drive.



Please use plain text.
Message 4 of 7 (25 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Lombax Warrior
Registered: 09/07/2007
Offline
121 posts
 

Re: Correct hard drive not found

Oct 8, 2011

So how can I format my HDD that I want to install?



Please use plain text.
Message 5 of 7 (25 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 02/14/2009
Offline
5377 posts
 

Re: Correct hard drive not found

Oct 8, 2011

FlamingXDragon wrote:

So how can I format my HDD that I want to install?



When the system displays the error message, it should also give you instructions to start the format.



Please use plain text.
Message 6 of 7 (25 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 10/30/2010
Offline
17 posts
 

Re: Correct hard drive not found

Nov 3, 2011

mine never did I just got the connect the correct harddrive, but I think mine might of been cause the new harddrive is a 7200 rpm (faster) than my older system can handle lol.. but never know cause I tried a 5400 rpm and it worked fine.

Please use plain text.
Message 7 of 7 (25 Views)
Reply
0 Likes