Reply
Highlighted
Mar 29 2007
By: Spy911 Sackboy 562 posts
Offline

anyone ever heard of dialup to ethernet cnverter ?

5 replies 3 views Edited Mar 29, 2007
i am trying to find out if this is even possible
______________________________________________________________
If my typing skillz offended you in any way.... I really dont care so just QYB!

If u see a user with very few posts and a very negative attitude its probably an xbox owner killing time between repairs

go to Google, type in "french military victories," and click the "I'm feeling lucky" button
Message 1 of 6 (3 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Gaming Beast
Registered: 12/28/2005
Offline
2449 posts
 

Re: anyone ever heard of dialup to ethernet cnverter ?

Mar 29, 2007
i really doubt it
Message 2 of 6 (3 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Ghost of Sparta
Registered: 03/25/2005
Offline
18648 posts
 

Re: anyone ever heard of dialup to ethernet cnverter ?

Mar 29, 2007
No it is not possible. Dial Up and broadband uses different technqiue to get online.
Message 3 of 6 (3 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Fender Bender
Registered: 09/01/2005
Offline
3737 posts
 

Re: anyone ever heard of dialup to ethernet cnverter ?

Mar 29, 2007
Thats's like a hyundai to veyron converter. i don't think it's possible or exists.

Message 4 of 6 (3 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Big Daddy
Registered: 08/23/2001
Offline
18887 posts
 

Re: anyone ever heard of dialup to ethernet cnverter ?

Mar 29, 2007
It's not technologically possible. There are probably other reasonable alternatives for what you're trying to do. Either via expansion card, usb, etc...
Message 5 of 6 (3 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Fender Bender
Registered: 03/19/2001
Offline
3091 posts
 

Re: anyone ever heard of dialup to ethernet cnverter ?

Mar 29, 2007
I seem to recall a device like that, but it was 10 ro 12 years ago, so I doubt you'd be able to find it now.

What do you think about the idea of using a PC? I know you can share a dial-up connection with another PC. The 2nd PC just sees it as an ethernet connection. If you had a PC with a dial-up adapter and and ethernet port, then you can share out the dial-up connection. Seems to me that you had to use a cross-over cable to connect the second computer.

If you're trying to think of a way to hook a PS3 up through dial-up. Don't bother. It would be impossibly slow, to the point where it would take days to download an update or demo.


*** No, I'm not a Moderator, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night.. ***

Gamer first, Member second, Retired Moderator third.
No, I'm not a Moderator, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night.
Message 6 of 6 (3 Views)
Reply
0 Likes